Dual monitor video card...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by elevator, Mar 19, 2007.

  1. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I have a Dell Dimension 8100 with a P4 processor and I want to put two monitors on it (DVI). I am lost in the vid card department. PCI, AGP? 32mb, 64mb, 128mb? The most exhaustive task it will be doing is Autocadd... no gaming. How cheap can I get away with it? What do I need?
     
  2. Peter Jun

    Peter Jun New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    you just need a card that has dual dvi. go for pci unless ur pc is ancient. You can get one for little above $100
     
  3. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    You need to know what card slots your computer has. According to Dell's website you should have an AGP slot, but I would open the case and take a look for yourself.

    If you do in fact have a AGP slot, then you still have a number of choices for cards but some what limited for ones with dual-DVI



    @PeterJun
    There is a big add difference between PCI and PCIE. Telling someone "go for PCI unless your PC is ancient" is very very wrong.
     
  4. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    I took a quick look at the Dell site under driver downloads for the 8100. They show video drivers from PCI TNT2 Pro through AGP nVidia Geforce3 64MB DDR. We can safely conclude this box should take a an AGP card.

    I looked up the Geforce3 cards. They are AGP 4X, which is likely the limit of your motherboard. The easiest thing you could do is to check your BIOS for AGP settings. You'd be able to confirm that your motherboard is AGP 4X capable.

    We're not likely to find dual-DVI on a 2X/4X card so you're forced into a more expensive 4X/8X card even though your motherboard can't run it at 8X. Unfortunately, this becomes a loss as your next computer will use the newer PCI-e slot.

    Cheapo (will do what you're asking): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814143083

    Recommended (last video upgrade for the box, ever): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150210
     
  5. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    :bowdown:

    It's a P4 3.2 Ghz so I won't be upgrading for a little while.
    Would I notice the difference between the two? No gaming, etc....
     
  6. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    One more question, I have another Dell - Dimension 8200. Would this same card (the "Cheapo" work for this computer as well?)

    Also, I'm assuming since I am getting AGP cards, I can use them with new computers? :x:
     
  7. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't *think* you're going to notice much difference between the cards unless your CAD work is moderately intensive. You may bottleneck on RAM rather than video.

    I'm a bit hesitant to say it'll be fine, as two monitors allows the user to expect more, simply due to desktop space. For example: I watch movies on the second monitor when gaming. With a single monitor I'd never do this.

    Also, like I'd said before, machines manufactured today use the PCI-e graphics interface almost exclusively. I'm sure it'll be a few years before the AGP 8X format disappears from store shelves.

    It'll run but I am not sure if the 8200 runs 8X. They came equipped with a GeForce4 4600 at the top end. This format was made in both 4X and 8X and Dell doesn't say.

    You could get a cheaper card with equivalent graphics performance if you do not need two monitors on the 8200.
     
  8. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Hmm, I think I'll go for the Cheapo, this office computer won't be watching movies or playing games and it's 2D Cadd...

    Also, I need dual monitors for the 8200 for even simpler reasons, so the card should suffice there, too.

    I'm assuming there is nothing cheaper than that $92 card to get me dual DVI?
     
  9. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    This is on feedback for the Cheapo, will it still work w/ my systems? :noes:
     
  10. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  11. Peter Jun

    Peter Jun New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  12. Peter Jun

    Peter Jun New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  13. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  14. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    and rebates are nice, but If I can get them ebay just as cheap, that would be better. Basically, all I have to look for is AGP and dual DVI? Any special version of AGP that won't work with the system?

    ps. thanks for the replies!
     
  15. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
  16. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    ATI blows. Buy nVidia.
     
  17. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  18. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
  19. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  20. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Pics help a ton.

    I believe you have an AGP Pro Universal slot on your motherboard. They're actually quite rare. I had to go look it up. Ref: (Look at the mid right diagram) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Accelerated_Graphics_Port

    /looks at DocBrown
    *Someone please confirm my conclusion here.*

    According to wiki, even though the new card appears to not fill the entire slot, it should work. Using the orientation of the pic of the motherboard, the new card's plastic tab should hang over the right side of the slot and the left side of the slot will be unfilled.

    You may also need to use the old video card to change your BIOS setting to match the voltage of the new card.

    To be honest, if I'm wrong we could damage hardware and the unconventional slot is pushing my knowledge. If we ruin something it's likely to be the new video card. You could just give it a go and RMA the card if it doesn't fly.
     
  21. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Already sent the card back...

    Could I just use a PCI card and not have to change voltage settings and whatever and make sure that it would fit in my computer?
     
  22. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Will a pci-express fit in my computer? How do I check this?
     
  23. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  24. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    pci-e will not fit. Standard pci will, but I'm not sure if you'll find anything decent or with dual DVI.

    Did you even try to fit the card into the slot or try to boot up?
     
  25. 1999TL

    1999TL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    what he just asked...
     

Share This Page