Dual Monitor Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Frequency, Aug 8, 2008.

1. Frequency

Frequency New Member

Ok quick(not really) question.

I run 2 LCD monitors connected via DVI to a single card. I've been running this setup for almost 8 months now. Well last night I disconnected my PC moved my desk around and reconnected it all again.

Boot her up.

Only 1 display works. Hmmm...
    Check all the cables, all is in order.
    Disconnect Display A. Reboot. Display B works just fine.
    Reconnect Display A. Disconnect Display B. Reboot. Display A works just fine.

So both displays still work, both ports on the back still working also. They just do not work together.

If I go into display settings and turn "Extend my Desktop on to this monitor" hit apply, the option becomes unchecked and will not use the other display.
    I'm really at a loss for trouble shooting this after playing with it for 2 hours last night.

Vid Card: nvidia 8600 GTS
    Vista Ultimate SP1

2. Chris

Chris New Member

This happens to me sometimes if I disconnect one or both of my monitors.

Try reinstalling the nvidia drivers then plug everything in and reboot. If you only get one screen coming on once your back into windows, try unplugging the dvi cable for then screen that is working while in windows and see if that makes it detect the other screen.

Trust me, I run a setup almost exactly like you and its a pain sometimes when things like this happen. You just have to play with it till it decides to work again.

3. Frequency

Frequency New Member

Yea video drivers are the only ones i didn't uninstall last night. Will try that first, I have tried the unplug the working one and it just leave me with no display

4. Frequency

Frequency New Member

Driver re-install does nothing but it appears I have tracked down the issue. I ts stuck in sleep mode. and some info on the monitor has been corrupted

5. Chris

Chris New Member