Dual Monitor Help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by awilke, Mar 14, 2007.

  1. awilke

    awilke Offtopic Deity

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to do dual monitors but it's not working properly.

    I have a 7800GT with a dvi cable going to my main monitor and also I just got a DVI to HDMI cable for the Samsung TV.

    Now it seems to recognize it in the Nvidia control panel which is good but it does not give me the option for dual-view, only one giant horizontal display putting the resolution at 2560x720. I have that option or clone.

    What I want is to be able to drag from one screen to another but with each screen to have their own resolution, not a shared one.

    Anyone do this before?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    i do this with my 6600gt. works fine.
     
  3. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    have you uninstalled the drivers for your previous video card yet?

    I had the exact same situation until I uninstalled the "old" drivers. Then my new Nvidia card's drivers started working and displayed both monitors.
     
  4. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had never done any dual monitor setups before today at work. I had no idea what I was doing, I just put in the video card and hooked up both monitors and it worked, I didn't do anything else :O.
     
  5. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yea... sounds like a driver issue. I use a shitty old LCD as a secondary on my laptop here at work, and it doesnt have anything close to the 1920x1200 my laptop screen has. I can change the resolutions individually in Windows' regular display properties.
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you installing the full NVidia control panel, or just the basic video drivers? You need to install the full suite to get the fancy features, as far as I know.
     
  7. awilke

    awilke Offtopic Deity

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it's all installed but I was told that might be the problem. It's definately looking like driver problems. I'm going to try to uninstall and put older drivers on when I get home from work.
     
  8. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    right click on my computer
    properties
    hardware tab
    device manager button
    display adapters

    you're probably going to see two sets of drivers... uninstall the one you don't use any more

    /problem.
     

Share This Page