A&P Dual Display Setups

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by f/2.8L, Sep 29, 2007.

  1. f/2.8L

    f/2.8L New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    404
    I know a lot of you guys are running dual displays. I finally scored 2 20" Dell 2007FWB's and fiind that I'm in need of a better video card. The card I have (128 DDR ATI Radeon 9800) is nice, but it doesn't do the dual display job well because it only has 1 DVI port, so that means the other display is connected VGA, which doesn't look quite as nice. SO... The question I have is, for you guys that are running dual displays, what graphics card do you have and does it support dual desktops well? I'm looking for a card that will handle dual desktops natively and allow for different L and R wallpapers.

    Suggestions?
     
  2. SenenCito

    SenenCito OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    15,530
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    New York, NY
    currently im using a Nvidia Geforce 8800 640mb superclocked, of course im also a gamer so it might be a bit of an overkill if you never game
     
  3. E-dub

    E-dub New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not a gamer so I use a BFG 8600GTS 256mb card. Runs my two LG 24's perfectly.
     
  4. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,736
    Likes Received:
    54
    My quad-core has a NVIDIA Quadro FX 4500.

    I don't run dual monitors on any PC's...
     
  5. Hypnos_VI

    Hypnos_VI JENGA!

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portsmouth, NH
    guess i cant really contribute, my macs just do it on their own :mamoru:
     
  6. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    hahahaha, word!

    oh, to help...just find any namebrand dual DVI video card and you'll be find if you don't game.
     
  7. Gromer

    Gromer Strange things are afoot at the Circle-K!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    72,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
  8. Matt-AWD

    Matt-AWD Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    38,663
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    OR
    Any card with 2 outputs will handle dual displays "natively". Everything else you want is strictly software based, and there are plenty of programs that will do what you want.

    Any ATI/Nvidia card with dual dvi outputs will do you just fine.
     
  9. kristin

    kristin my dog > *

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I have an Nvidia 8600 GT
     
  10. Matt-AWD

    Matt-AWD Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    38,663
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    OR
    Also, since you're using a radeon 9800, look for an AGP card, not pci-express :o
     
  11. f/2.8L

    f/2.8L New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    404
    ^^^ Werd!

    Ok, time to go shopping. Seems as though the monitors are a little off in color with the current setup. One is connected DVI and the other is connected VGA. The colors are slightly different. I'm hoping this is an issue with the connection rather than the monitors.
     
  12. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is probably from using the 2 different connections. when i had my identical lcd's hooked up that way, i had the same problem. dual dvi card fixed it.
     
  13. Matt-AWD

    Matt-AWD Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    38,663
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    OR
    Each panel can also be slightly different out of the factory. They should look identical if both are calibrated, though.
     
  14. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    i've never calibrated them, but the colors are the same on both of them now. the brightness was off slightly but i was able to adjust that.
     
  15. f/2.8L

    f/2.8L New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    404
    Cool, thanks for the info guys.
     
  16. BeachBoy

    BeachBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    eye color display 2 ftw

    to adjust colors... it's worth the $
     
  17. chlywly

    chlywly Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    18,745
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    I'm using a Quadro 3450 with 2 Professional Series Viewsonic CRT's... good setup!
     
  18. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is definitely the connection. however, I won't discount the fact that they may be a little bit off between the two as calibration from the factory isn't always on point.
     

Share This Page