Dual booting XP and Vista

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MSTRBKR, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    I have two internal disks. If I put XP on the second one and keep vista on the first will the BIOS let me choose between them when I boot or will I have to go into the BIOS settings each time and choose from there?

    Also, when in vista can I access and use files from the disk with XP on and vise versa?
     
  2. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    The easiest way of doing this is to have XP installed initially and then install Vista to a seperate disk.

    Vista will see the XP install and create a boot screen where it asks you which OS you want to boot from.

    If you try to do it backwards (Vista first and then XP) XP will fail to see the Vista partition and NOT create the DOS screen.
    If you do this there are options. Google 'boot managers vista' and you should get some choices in boot managers.

    Your second question, Vista is basicaly an NTSF partition which is the same partition format as XP. XP has no issues reading and moving files off the Vista partition and Vista has no problem reading and moving files off the XP partition.

    There may be some issues if you have XP installed to a Fat32 partition.
     
  3. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Okay. Can I not just go into the boot menu and select which hard drive I want to boot off thus choosing my OS?

    I'm only putting XP on to play one game that doesn't work on Vista.
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Yes and no. Windows itself loads based on which disk and partition you installed it on. If you change the order of the disks via the BIOS, it won't load.
     
  5. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Hmm I don't think this is worth the time it will take.
     
  6. critter783

    critter783 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can edit your boot.ini file and put Windows into multi-boot mode. Then you'll get a choice each time you boot of which OS you want to load.
     
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Technically, if you have SATA drives, you can go into the BIOS and choose which one to be the primary each time you want to swtich. I think I'd do it right though by installing XP first then Vista.
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    yes you can
     

Share This Page