dual boot?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mdaniel, Jun 11, 2004.

  1. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,504
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Can you dual boot between OS X and OS 9 the way you can on a PC between NT and 9x?
     
  2. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Though there are "multiple OS" loaders for Mac OSX, they are QUITE tricky to install. Rather, Mac OSX will run OS9 whenever you need to run an OS9 application without rebooting. It takes alot of memory, but works.
     
  3. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    You can do it, but not EXACTLY the same way you would on a Windows box. On the older G4s, you can have 2 systems (9 and X) and restart in either one whenever you want, that's what I do. On the newer systems, they will only boot in X. diranged was right about Classic mode, but it definately does have some kinks. Most things worth having now days are available for X anyway, though. Hope this helps. :)
     
  4. voges

    voges Guest

    yeah, on older systems that boot os9 you simply use system preferences / startup disk OR in os9 use control panels / startup disc to switch between the two. I have a mac at work which is partioned and has 10.2, 10.3, 10.2 server, 10.3 server, 9.2.2 and 9.1 with AppleShare IP 6.3.3. Works great!

    If you put your system folders on different partitions you can use the firmware startup manager to select which system folder you want to load. Just hold down the option key when you turn the Mac on.
     
  5. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,504
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    So what's the newest laptop that can boot OS9? I'm thinking about picking up something on eBay to learn on and play with and I need to expose myself to both 9 and 10.
     
  6. dmora

    dmora Guest

    Ti Powerbooks.
     
  7. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Turn off that damn sig. :squint:
     
  8. dmora

    dmora Guest

    How? :dunno: Fazle hasnt disabled that option by default like in 6.0
     
  9. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    By clicking the little box before you post.
     
  10. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or you can just turn off viewing of signatures in your own profile :) I did that, and thank god!
     
  11. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,504
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    I'm thinking about a desktop now since they're cheaper and easier to upgrade but........I don't want another mouse, keyboard, and monitor on my desk. I presently use a 4 port KVM switch with VGA and PS2 ports to control a couple of PCs. I've seen adpaters that let you connect a PS2 mouse and/or keyboard to a computer with USB ports. Do you think I could use one of those to connect my KVM switch's mouse and keyboard ports to a Mac?
     
  12. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    No.
     
  13. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,504
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo


    Just for shits an giggles I tried it on my friend's G4 Powerbook with OS10.3 and the mouse and keyboard worked. Also, once I clicked "detect displays" it properly identified the Sceptre 15" LCD attached to it through the KVM switch and let me pick 1024x768 resolution.
     
  14. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
  15. acabrera

    acabrera Rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    50,277
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Miami Beach, FL
    there really isn't any reason to learn system 9. It's ass backwards to tell you the truth.

    Learn OS X and FreeBSD if you want to dual boot and really become good at OS X
     
  16. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,504
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Well I need to be familiar with it in case I need to work on it. I know there's still a lot of people running old OS's out there and if I need to fix/upgrade/repair one of them, I'd better be able to find my way around the system.
     
  17. acabrera

    acabrera Rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    50,277
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Miami Beach, FL
    meh, I guess that's a good reason. I've had people ask me questions about OS 9 and my response is always "upgrade".

    I started with Apple about 3 years ago when OS X first came out. I think my PowerMac came with 10.0 or 10.1 (I don't remember). I only touched OS 9 for a few months until FCP3 for OS X came out.
     
  18. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,504
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Does anyone know what the installed base percentage is for each OS?
     

Share This Page