Dual Boot Vista/XP

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mac, Apr 20, 2007.

  1. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    so i have XP on one of my hardrives right now and 1 drive free. its the upgrade version of Vista so tell me if i have the procedure right: clean install XP on second drive, boot to that installation, install Vista over top...then ill be offered the choice of booting into XP or Vista on Startup right?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    why would you do this?
     
  3. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    How about running in a virtual machine?
     
  4. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    i have not used virtual machine before. how would i go about doing this?
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    WHY do you want to do this?
     
  6. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    why do u care? obviously i want both OS's on my machine!
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    There's lots of reasons why you would want to do this, regardless of your own personal viewpoints of Vista.
     
  8. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    I think VirtualPC is still free:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/winfamily/virtualpc/default.mspx

    It's a good route to go if you just are looking to "try" vista without committing to installing it on hardware. I have Vista install in a virtual machine environment for software testing, etc.
     

Share This Page