dual boot vista and xp

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by alptekin, Apr 6, 2007.

  1. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl
    well i have vista and i installed xp. the problem is i cant dual boot them. i did the whole reinstall the vista boot mbr but it didn't fix the problem and i still cant get into vista to fix the boot mbr settings. when i start up it just gives me a boot menu (because i had to reinstall vista and it gave me an old windows options) and gives me two xp's (it basically masked the old windows boot as xp) but there is no vista. i cant get back into it. does anyone have any idea whats going on?
     
  2. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I had xp installed and then installed vista with no problems. Maybe try that.:dunno:
     
  3. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl
    well i dont have a copy of xp on hand and i dont want to get rid of my vista partition cuz its full of all my notebooks drivers.
     
  4. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Once you have your XP installation and drivers all installed, download and install VistaBootPRO. Make sure you follow the prompt to install .Net Framework 2.00 as VistaBootPRO will not run without it.

    Open VistaBootPRO, ignore the prompt to backup your BCD. Go to the Bootloader tab and "Reinstall the Vista bootloader".

    Go to the Diagnostics item on the menu bar and select "Run Diagnostics". VistaBootPRO will default back to the Manage OS Entries page and you will see that you now have entries there for "Earlier versions of Windows" as well as "Microsoft Windows Vista".

    http://www.vistabootpro.org/
     
  5. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl
    ok so instead of doing that i was thinking of just booting xp from an external hd. the problem is getting the drivers to work i think. is this possible and what should i do?
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    xp doesn't like external hdds.
     
  7. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl
    thats beyond the point. thanks for your help
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no, i guess you being a moron is the point?
     
  9. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl
    i didn't ask if it liked it. i just need to do it. im worried about driver issues mostly.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    and I told you nicely, but you're too thick to understand, so let me put it bluntly:

    WINDOWS WILL NOT BOOT FROM A USB EXTERNAL HDD
     
  11. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl
    um ive seen it done i know it can for a fact as long as your bios lets you boot from a usb port. i dont see how it can be a problem but please tell me why it cant.

    edit: i know you have to edit some files on the actual cd and thats what im trying to figure out. also if i cant do it then how can i dual boot vista and xp if i dont have a genuine copy of vista. i just bought this laptop and all i have is the upgrade cd. and im worried it might fuck up.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2007
  12. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
  13. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl
    well its saying a need to do a couple thing but seeing as i have a 80gb hd i dont need to do the BartPE thing?
     
  14. theanomaly

    theanomaly Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    8,440
    Likes Received:
    0
    same here, no problems. just says what do you want to boot? win vista or previous version
     
  15. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl

    well apparently it dosnt work that way when you have vista first because xp deletes the vista mbr.
     
  16. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl

Share This Page