Dual boot question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mugatu, Apr 11, 2003.

  1. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to make a system dualboot to win2k and 98 if Win2k has already been installed?

    All the stuff I have seen is for adding windows 2000/xp to a macnhine running 95/98/me but I am already running windows 2000 and want to add 98 (for some games) - is there a way to add win95/98/ME to a win2k/XP machine or does it only go the other way around?

    TIA
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    I need this too, i need to add win98 to windows XP :sad2:
     
  3. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    :o I hope there's a way - I wanna play my NFS and other old games again w/o having to adjust a bunch of crap (and they still didn't work after I tried the "fixes" )
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    NFS Porsche does work on W2k BTW - didn't I say this before? Anyway - yes you can install Win98 after the fact. It's easier to do on two different disks, but you can do it with only one HD. First you need to partition the drive so it's empty, then go ahead and install 98 as you would normally. Finally, throw the W2k CD in and choose repair.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Your going to have to go into more detail on that one, plz :)
     
  6. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    :cool: thanks

    and FNS used to work for me but now it doesn't work at all - I tried the pagefile fix, etc. that I found on the net but none of them fixed it (gets to the splash screen after the intro clips and boots me back to the desktop after about a minute).
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Did you reset the swap to 0 after?
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    havent tried that, I'll do it today.

    Tha one I read said to delete the gimme.dll file in the NFS:pU directory, make sure Win2KSP2 was installed, and play around with the page file size (between 300 and 500) but it never said to set it to 0.

    I'll try that, if I can get it to work it would be a lot better than having to install an older version of windows just for a couple of games.

    Thanks :wavey:
     
  9. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    :bowdown: to 5Gen_Prelude

    it worked :bigthumb: I was finally able to play NFS:pU again - now if I can only get NFS:HS to run
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    heh - let me know if you get that to work - I never did - but I don't think I tried either.
     

Share This Page