dual boot options, which is better

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by sffitzge, Jan 4, 2010.

1. sffitzge

sffitzge New Member

i'm about to purchase all the components for a new desktop and I was hoping to dual boot windows 7 and ubuntu, as I have never done a dual boot before I have a couple questions

1 would my computer run faster if I gave each OS its own hard drive? (say two 500 gb hds as opposed to partitioning a 1 tb hd)

2 if i decide to partition my hd for now and buy another hd later, can I format both OS to have full access to that new hd/or for the time being partition the hd again and put everything I was shared on the third partition? (I'm trying to avoid having two copies of all my music, or having to use a portable hd all the time)

oh and I've installed ubuntu on a previous laptop (not the most current edition) but have never tried kubuntu, which do you guys perfer?

2. sffitzge

sffitzge New Member

sooooo nobody dual boots? thought there might be somebody here who does and have some sort of opinion on the matter

3. GammaRadiation

GammaRadiation Active Member

1.) No, it wont see it running any faster
    2.) While I cant tell you how off the top of my head, yes you can ghost and move individual partitions.

4. GOGZILLA

GOGZILLA Double-Uranium Member

1. No
    2. Yes you can mount ntfs partitions (your windows partition) in ubuntu and depending on what file system you use for your ubuntu partition you may be able to mount it in windows.

if your new PC is going to be pretty fast virtualizing is awesome. A dual boot is good for something like when someone mainly runs linux but wants to natively run games in windows. It would depend on your use case to suggest the easiest/best option.

5. sffitzge

sffitzge New Member

I was gonna use kubuntu for general use (internet, writing papers)
    and windows for gaming/engineering programs (so i can avoid using wine)