Dual Boot FC5 and XP pro - questions

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Nefarious77, May 16, 2006.

  1. Nefarious77

    Nefarious77 Guest

    I want to install FC5 in a dual boot with XP pro. The box is an older box with dual P3 600 processors and 1gb RAM. It has 2 IDE hard drives.

    HD1 - primary 42gb NTSF single partition (30gb free) - this drive contains XP and all installed software.
    HD2 - slave 160gb NTSF single partition (53gb free) - this drive is a storage drive only with music, videos, and personal documents.

    What would be the best method and how do I go about installing?

    Thanks!
     
  2. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    The way I did it, and there may be other ways, was to have two hard drives, each dedicated to each OS. I installed Win XP Pro on the primary, then installed FC4 (at the time) on the secondary drive (which was blank). The GRUB boot loader picked up the Windows XP partition, and set up the dual boot stuff pretty much by itself.
     
  3. Clarity

    Clarity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get a real distro.
     
  4. Nefarious77

    Nefarious77 Guest

    such as?
     
  5. Clarity

    Clarity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    slack.
    gentoo.
     
  6. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Have you ever actually tried Fedora? How is it not a real distribution?
     
  7. Nefarious77

    Nefarious77 Guest

    Fedora is basically a free version of RH. I opted for it because I use it at work on a desktop.
     
  8. Clarity

    Clarity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    figure of speech
     
  9. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    That doesn't answer the question.
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :ugh:

    Gentoo and Slack have their place, but this isn't it. IMO, if you're going to go through the hassle of installing and configuring Gentoo, you may as well use FreeBSD. The guy is obviously no Linux expert and just wants a nice desktop system to use.

    I wouldn't recommend FC either, but Ubuntu is my choice. It's designed for the desktop and will easily do an XP dual-boot setup. It even resizes NTFS partitions during install with no problems (well, no problems in the many times I've done it, probably 30ish).
     
  11. ahender

    ahender New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    make sure you install windows first it gets pissed if its last and sees linux installed :hsughr:
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I haven't had that problem... Just gotta make sure to configure the windows bootloader properly.
     
  13. Clarity

    Clarity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    True. After gaining proficiency with Linux, I'd move towards Gentoo or Slack >.<

    I remember my first distro was FC2.
     
  14. Kirby McSpic

    Kirby McSpic New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    45,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
    FC2 is still my OS in my old 1.3 GHz P3 :hsugh:
     
  15. Nefarious77

    Nefarious77 Guest

    I ended up using partition magic 8 after a chkdsk /f to resize my XP partition and added FC5 onto the new partition. Everything works great except when I mount my storage NTFS drive. I can open everything but mp3 files. I went through several different tutorials on setting up to play mp3's and nothing works. Realplayer wont even play them. I have tried copying them from the NTFS mount and also playing them directly. Video files play fine from the drive. :dunno: There were also a ton of updates that had to be installed.
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    *sigh* you are not a very good reader or user of google.

    Red Hat has not included support for mp3 codecs for a LONG time, since around RH8.

     
  17. Nefarious77

    Nefarious77 Guest

    I've done that as well as several other installs for various programs. None of them have worked for mp3 playback.
    http://home.gagme.com/greg/linux/fc5-tips.php
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I've used this one before and it's worked for me. I don't use Fedora much (don't care for it) so I'm not sure about FC5.

    Code:
    wget http://dag.wieers.com/packages/xmms/xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.i386.rpm
    sudo rpm -ivh xmms-mp3-1.2.10-11.1.1.fc3.rf.i386.rpm
     

Share This Page