Dual and Triple Channel RAM

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by phoenix1105, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. phoenix1105

    phoenix1105 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it the same thing? I am thinking of buying some triple channel to test my system and see if that is the problem. If I have bad RAM then it will fix, if not, I am going to need more RAM for an I7 board and chip. But, is there a difference because the new mobo I want is trip channel...
     
  2. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    They are the same ram, triple channel sets just have one extra stick.
     
  3. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    I don't think there is a significant improvement on triple channel ram just my opinion DDR3 ram is little pricey yet
     
  4. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    I was under the impression that DDR2 and DDR3 are not electrically compatible, even if they do have the same pin count.

    EDIT: Misunderstood original post, posted too quickly, must learn self-control.
     
  5. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,475
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
  6. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    The big differences between triple and dual channel on the X58 chipsets are really only seen when you move to dual socket boards with multiple DIMMs per channel. It also depends on the application, many do not come close to fully utilizing the performance on offer of the Nehalem high end platforms.

    Memory is cheap enough that you should have 3 DIMMs on a single socket Core i7 board though.
     

Share This Page