A&P DSLR: Full kit vs. body + different lens?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by verbal, Apr 12, 2006.

1. verbal

verbal Active Member

I'm (slowly) saving up for my first DSLR and I'm wondering if I should get the Rebel XT full kit or just the body and a different lens. I read all over that the kit lens isn't that bad but I'm just wondering what OT thinks.

If I were to get the body and a different lens it would have to be in the same price range of the kit lens. Maybe a little more.

I am a beginner in the DSLR area. So I don't know too much about terminology and all that. Any recommendations on a book or webpage that goes through a beginners crash course in DSLRs?

2. IntheWorks

IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

I'd buy it with the kit lens, then save up for a better lens while your learning.

3. Gerbonium

Gerbonium OT Supporter

id get the kit with the lens. i originally didnt do that when i got my drebel (although different reason - i had a lense from my old film slr, but didnt take in the 1.6x magnification factor so i i never was able to get a 1x shot, only 1.6 which was annoying). WHen the kits lense did finally go on sale by itself i got it. It may not be a pro lense but it gets the job done especially since im just an enthusiast.

to sum up - get the kit lense and use that for awhile. if u later on feel like its holding u back then get something new.

you may also want to get a higher zoom lense as ur second lense later on before buying a really nice one of the kit's zoom.

4. verbal

verbal Active Member

Since zoom isn't measured by "x optical zoom" with SLRs, if you could put a typical "x optical zoom" on the kit lens, what would it be?

5. killer4605

killer4605 New Member