DSL questions

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bloke, Sep 25, 2005.

  1. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    how do i ping my dsl modem? its a Starbridge Lynx 210 and 192.168.1.1 times out

    also when i do a trace route i end up with bad ping times and time outs. whats going on here

    C:\>tracert www.yahoo.com

    Tracing route to www.yahoo.akadns.net [216.109.117.110]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 25 ms 27 ms 24 ms 209-102-170-1.adsl.peknil.grics.net [209.102.170
    .1]
    2 25 ms 50 ms 33 ms peknil-coe-ci7505-01.grics.net [64.40.75.4]
    3 42 ms 42 ms 42 ms atlnga-host-jum160-01.madisonriver.net [66.79.5.
    5]
    4 42 ms 47 ms 48 ms border6.ge1-6.madisonriver-2.acs.pnap.net [64.94
    .2.61]
    5 41 ms 59 ms 42 ms core4.ge2-0-bbnet1.acs.pnap.net [64.94.0.6]
    6 53 ms 42 ms 44 ms 12.118.184.141
    7 62 ms 57 ms 61 ms gbr2-p70.attga.ip.att.net [12.123.21.6]
    8 58 ms 77 ms 67 ms tbr1-p013602.attga.ip.att.net [12.122.12.17]
    9 61 ms 82 ms 60 ms tbr2-cl1.wswdc.ip.att.net [12.122.10.69]
    10 57 ms 64 ms 58 ms gar1-p390.ascva.ip.att.net [12.123.8.53]
    11 58 ms 79 ms 112 ms 12.118.44.10
    12 58 ms 58 ms 100 ms ae1.p420.msr2.dcn.yahoo.com [216.115.96.185]
    13 59 ms 99 ms 78 ms ge7-1.bas1-m.dcn.yahoo.com [216.109.120.205]
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * * * Request timed out.
    22 *



    Tracing route to cnews.newsguy.com [129.250.170.85]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 24 ms 24 ms 31 ms 209-102-170-1.adsl.peknil.grics.net [209.102.170
    .1]
    2 28 ms 24 ms 25 ms peknil-coe-ci7505-01.grics.net [64.40.75.4]
    3 42 ms 42 ms 42 ms atlnga-host-jum160-01.madisonriver.net [66.79.5.
    5]
    4 42 ms 43 ms 41 ms border6.ge1-6.madisonriver-2.acs.pnap.net [64.94
    .2.61]
    5 42 ms 42 ms 41 ms core4.ge2-0-bbnet1.acs.pnap.net [64.94.0.6]
    6 43 ms 43 ms 46 ms POS2-0.GW4.ATL3.ALTER.NET [63.122.231.197]
    7 46 ms 52 ms 43 ms 103.at-1-0-0.XR1.ATL1.ALTER.NET [152.63.85.98]
    8 43 ms 43 ms 45 ms 0.so-1-0-0.XL1.ATL1.ALTER.NET [152.63.86.85]
    9 57 ms 65 ms 57 ms 0.so-7-0-0.XL1.CHI2.ALTER.NET [152.63.68.81]
    10 57 ms 86 ms 60 ms POS6-0.BR3.CHI2.ALTER.NET [152.63.68.1]
    11 * 74 ms 66 ms 204.255.174.234
    12 101 ms 100 ms 101 ms p16-1-1-1.r21.snjsca04.us.bb.verio.net [129.250.
    5.132]
    13 120 ms 115 ms 121 ms p64-0-0-0.r20.mlpsca01.us.bb.verio.net [129.250.
    5.2]
    14 114 ms 124 ms 121 ms xe-1-1.r02.mlpsca01.us.bb.verio.net [129.250.3.9
    7]
    15 154 ms 116 ms 116 ms mg-1.a00.mlpsca01.us.da.verio.net [129.250.24.19
    4]
    16 124 ms 116 ms 118 ms mg-2.a07.mlpsca01.us.da.verio.net [129.250.25.20
    1]
    17 173 ms 115 ms 115 ms 128.242.106.187
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * * * Request timed out.
    22 * * * Request timed out.
    23 * * * Request timed out.
    24 * * * Request timed out.
    25 * * * Request timed out.
    26 * * * Request timed out.
    27 * * * Request timed out.
    28 * * * Request timed out.
    29 * * * Request timed out.
    30 * * * Request timed out.

    Trace complete.

    C:\>
     
  2. tony

    tony Guest

    ping 192.168.1.1

    If that doesnt work, then thats not your DSL modems ip.

    If it is, then your modem drops ICMP requests.
     
  3. tony

    tony Guest

    192.168.x.x
    10.x.x.x
    172.16.x.x to 172.31.x.x

    It can be any of those. It is up to the manufacture.

    As for the traceroute issue, somewhere along the line ICMP TTL Exceeded responces are being filtered out. If you can ping the final host fine, then there is nothing to worry aboutl.
     
  4. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL

    C:\>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:>ping 192.168.100.1

    Pinging 192.168.100.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.100.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    this sucks
     
  5. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    C:\>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\>
     
  6. tony

    tony Guest

    What happens when you enter the ip into your web browser?

    What is the IP your computer is configured to?
     
  7. Diggumz

    Diggumz Devin da dude

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Run ipconfig and see what the default gateway is and ping that addy :hs:
     
  8. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 209.102.160.1

    Pinging 209.102.160.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 209.102.160.1: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=255
    Reply from 209.102.160.1: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=255
    Reply from 209.102.160.1: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=255
    Reply from 209.102.160.1: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=255

    Ping statistics for 209.102.160.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 23ms, Maximum = 38ms, Average = 27ms

    if thats my modem it should have faster times than that.
     
  9. tony

    tony Guest

    The gateway, in this case, is your ISP.
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    The gateway is always your ISP.

    Your modem is plugged into the ISP's network. It connects to the internet through the ISP's servers (in this case, the gateway at the ISP is 209.102.160.1).

    Your computer connects through the modem, and gets an IP address from the ISP's DHCP server. The modem is not a router, it doesn't assign IP addresses and doesn't have an IP on your home network.

    If you're connecting through a router, then it becomes the gateway for your computer. However, the gateway for the router is still the ISP's gateway because it's still on the ISP's network. The router is on both networks and therefore it has two IP addresses (an internal one - probably 192.168.1.1 - and an external one - 209.102.160.xxx in this case).

    In short, the modem isn't a router and doesn't have an IP on your local network. It's just an interface between your computer (or router) and the ISP's network.
     
  11. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    my modem is 192.168.0.1
     
  12. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    It could be that the router does not respond to internal ICMP requests, but that would be odd. Mine is both a wireless router and a modem so I have a bit of a different setup. My router allows me to configure the internal IP Address.
     
  13. tony

    tony Guest

    He is connected to his DSL modem, which has an internal ip address of 192.168.1.1 for its built-in configuration software. Being plugged into the DSL modem, his computer is assigned an IP address of 209.102.160.x (or similar) by the ISP via DHCP or PPPoE (most likely). If he was using a router, the router's internal IP would be the first hop in the traceroute, since he ran it from his computer.

    You're only going to be able to ping the DSL modem's IP address if you set your IP to 192.168.1.xxx. Your configured IP and the DSL modem's are on different subnets, they cannot talk to eachother as-is.

    Also, the gateway is not always the ISP. The gateway is just whatever is routing the packets to your machine. In this case it is his ISP because his machine has a routeable IP, if he was using one of those broadband routers, then that would be his gateway. The router would then use the ISP as its gateway.

    Go into network properties and manually change your IP to 192.168.1.2 and then ping 192.168.1.1. You will then find that pinging the DSL modem will magically work.

    Also, why do you want to ping your DSL modem?
     
  14. tony

    tony Guest

    FYI, Yahoo/SBC used to hand out DSL modems that had used an internal IP for configuration.
     
  15. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    So what you're saying is that they were actually routers.
     
  16. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    QFT
     
  17. tony

    tony Guest

    ATM to ethernet bridge, actually. Which is what all DSL "Modems" are.

    They're not routers.
     
  18. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    It looks like the pppoe connection is made from the computer not the router.
     
  19. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,617
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    Yes.

    Your PC doesn't have a route to the 192.168.1.0/24 subnet therefore is forwarding the request to your default gateway (your ISPs first hop router) this router will drop the packet as it is unroutable.
     

Share This Page