Dropped frames when playing 720p mkv files

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by THT, Nov 22, 2008.

  1. THT

    THT The easy way is always mined

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    12,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The booby hatch
    My HTPCs are dropping frames when playing 720p mkv files.

    HTPC1: AMD LE1660 2.8GHz Lima CPU, Biostar K8M800 motherboard, 2x1GB Kingston DDR2-667 RAM, 1TB Barracuda HDD, ATi 8500 video card

    HTPC2: Same as 1 but a 500GB Barracuda HDD and an ATi 9700 Pro video card

    Do the video cards have anything to do with playback performance?
     
  2. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    The bottleneck when watching HD video on your computer is the data transmission from its stored location into ram for playback. I doubt your video hardware is having trouble rendering the image, if your player even supports Directx overlays... its likely you do not have enough available memory to keep a large enough cache and so the program has to pull the data from the harddrive in real time, and no hard drive in the world can handle that type of throughput, save for maybe ultra expensive solid state drives.
     
  3. THT

    THT The easy way is always mined

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    12,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The booby hatch
    Well, time to see what adding a third stick does. Thanks for the advice.
     
  4. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    probably CPU

    I only have a cheapo 2gb ram kit and it plays 1080p fine.. and video cards wont make a diff it's only 2d
     
  5. eof

    eof New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7,288
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    I thought mkv was uncompressed? CPU would only come into play if the software is decompressing in real time or something like that I would think... you might be right though, but even then I would think a 2.8ghz chip would handle 720p

    And about the video card thing, a lot of media players render via a directx overlay to take advantage of hardware acceleration
     
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    decoding HD content needs a lot of processing power.
    it will stress even the modern CPUs.
    check your CPU load while watching.

    now,... ATI has this thing called AVIVO HD. Nvidia calls theirs PureVideo HD.
    having these will offload decoding jobs to the vid card to help the CPU.
    I don't think your cards have this.

    without it, paired with a single core cpu = fail

    and then there's codecs and the player you use.
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    mkv is a container and can have compressed audio and video streams
     
  9. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    Ah, didnt know that. I also didn't know that 720p would require more than a 3ghz processor :noes:

    I mean, 1280x720 is much lower res than most computer monitors are capable of... and I can only imagine that simply dumping predefined video to it would be a lot less difficult than generating the image from meta-data (as in gaming) in a much higher resolution (1600x1200 and higher for most games).

    I guess its all about the decompression that has to take place
     
  10. eof

    eof New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    CoreAVC plays 1080p content fine on my setup ... Athlon 64 X2 5200+
     
  11. THT

    THT The easy way is always mined

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    12,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The booby hatch
    CoreAVC solved it :bigthumb:
     
  12. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Ya I was about to say that CPU is easily powerful enough and the 8500 does do hardware h.264 decoding.
     
  13. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Just tested a 720p video on a dual core 1.6GHz Atom, and it played absolutely fine with only a 70% CPU load :cool: So CPU's are almost never the issue.
     
  14. eof

    eof New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    CoreAVC is pretty badass...hopefully they include hardware decoding at some point then it will be unbeatable.
     
  15. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    that's not what I said.
    HD playback is indeed CPU intensive, but if you do have sw/hw decoding assistance,.... CPU won't matter much.

    that's why I asked him to check the cpu, vid cards, codecs & player.
     
  16. butta

    butta OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    56,912
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    NEW JERSEY
    i can get a cracked version of coreavc on newsgroups right?
     
  17. eof

    eof New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should be able to...
     
  18. kuno

    kuno .... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    5,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Or just get Core Media Player, http://www.corecoded.com/ It's free.

    Solved my problem with playing HD content. All the other media players had issues playing the Matroska container.
     
  19. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    usually does, lol
     

Share This Page