Drobo?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by inkblot78, Nov 28, 2009.

  1. inkblot78

    inkblot78 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone have any experience with the Drobo? I'm tired of worrying about my data since its spread across multiple external drives. I want to just put everything on one of these and then run it from my Macbook Pro via Firewire 800.
     
  2. Deepsix

    Deepsix OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    19,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I've heard they're great, but $$$
     
  3. inkblot78

    inkblot78 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    B&H has them (without drives) for $299. Pulled the trigger on it and two 2 TB drives from Newegg. Strangely unrelated, 30 minutes later, my MBP died.
     
  4. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    i got one for the peace of mind to not have to worry about drives dying.

    definitely worth the money. fast enough to stream 1080p video.
     
  5. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    I'd be all about it if it had SATA output to run to my MBP.
     
  6. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want one badly but they're expensive.
     
  7. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

  8. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Also want one, but they are expensive. I keep wanting a reason to get rid of my file server but I don't know if I would like having to leave my MBP on while torrents download/seed overnight.
     
  9. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    i just set my mac to turn off at a certain time...you can do it in power settings
     
  10. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Yea I know you can do this but Mediacom high speed sucks in my area so I like to seed torrents during the night rather than during the day while I actually need the bandwidth.
     

Share This Page