Driving Manual Transmissions

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by OhNoess, Aug 23, 2005.

1. OhNoess

OhNoess New Member

Wish I had a search feature to see if something like this was already posted :-/.

But yeah. Thought I'd get a post started just about driving sticks for those, like me, who dont know a lot about it and would like to know more. I've been driving manual for about 4 or 5 months and I've gotten much better at it since I started. Before I bought the car I'm driving now (a '95 Talon TSi AWD Turbo), I'd never touched a manual except my friends car and only for a few minutes.

It took me so long to learn because everyone wanted to try and tell me what to do, rather than what I needed to get done. I'm the kind of person that will figure stuff out like that faster and better if I know how it works and what to do to make it work. Needlesstosay, I figured it out but I still have room for improvement.

I was just wondering if anyone would like to share techniques, experiences, or other information that might be helpful to me and others to become more efficient (and possibly faster :rolleyes:) manual drivers.

To start with, I'd like to ask from a stop, is it better to let the friction plates slide together, getting the transmission spinning as fast as the engine, before the clutch is fully let off, giving a smoother acceleration? I've been used to just getting off the clutch as soon as I can to reduce slipping of the plates and the wear of the clutch, which might sometimes give a slight jerk. I'm just paranoid about burning a clutch out and having to replace it.

2. OhNoess

OhNoess New Member