Drive Cloning Software

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 01Z71, Mar 1, 2008.

  1. 01Z71

    01Z71 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am thinking about getting some drive cloning software so I can clone an Windows 98 Hard Drive so I can upgrade
    the contents of my hard drive to a new Windows XP computer.

    Can this be done so I don't have to reinstall the software for some of my programs. I have lost some of the cd's and would like to just be able to clone the drive and be good to go. Is this possible? Thanks.
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    The enterprise workstation version of Acronis can do that.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no. do a fresh xp install and re-install your apps.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    It would work, but it would take extra steps.

    He would have to wipe the drive on the xp build, then image the 98 drive onto it.

    Now that he would have the 98 install on the xp build, he could do an upgrade to xp.

    It would be more work than it's worth, I suppose. But it could be done.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it would be a hassle and not run as well as it could.

    for all intents and purposes the best solution is usually the most thorough and more right.
     

Share This Page