Doom III for Linux released

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Penguin Man, Oct 6, 2004.

  1. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
  2. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Thats a huge step in the right direction of Computing.
    Shit would be so much better if companies would just multi-platform more.
     
  3. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    ID has always been good for that, you can usually get their games for Windows, Linux and Mac.
     
  4. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    :eek3: Must have!! I wonder how it will run on my new AMD 3200+ 64 :x:
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Considering that the minimum specs for it is only a 1GHz P4 and 256MB of RAM, it should run great. You need an nVidia-based video card though, ATI cards aren't supported by it yet I guess.
     
  6. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    i've got an older ti4400? I think that's the model. I haven't upgraded in years, but it is an nvidia card. Their linux drivers are great. They even have them compiled for amd64 already
     
  7. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,613
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I was all excited.....until I saw that you need to windows CD. :o
     
  8. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yeah, me too :embd:

    Makes sense though, still have to buy (or "buy") the game to play it. Otherwise they wouldn't make any money off it.
     
  9. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,613
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    Yeah :-/
     

Share This Page