GUN don't laugh

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by kutkota, Dec 1, 2006.

  1. kutkota

    kutkota New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a potentially stupid question. I am under the impression that if a gun is sold face to face a ffl is not needed to be involved. Is this true or not. also if one is needed what is the typical going rate for a transfer.
     
  2. SlowTA367

    SlowTA367 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    It depends on your location. In Texas no ffl is required. If you are the seller you should make up a bill of sale.
     
  3. TL1000RSquid

    TL1000RSquid ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    All depends on your state laws so your location would help, but as far as federal laws you are correct FTF does not require a FFL.
     
  4. kutkota

    kutkota New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    how about in missouri or were could i look this information up
     
  5. Ford4Life

    Ford4Life Guest

    FTF is fine in most places as long as both parties reside in the same state.
     
  6. TL1000RSquid

    TL1000RSquid ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    www.packing.org
     
  7. Slick26

    Slick26 Gun|Bike|Cigar|PS3|Beer |Whisky|Night Crew

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    47,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mini Soda
    Most FFL transfers, if needed, are somewhere in the range of $20-$50. The stores in my area seem to be in the bottom of that range, and private basement FFL guys are a bit higher.
    Most states you can just sell your gun to whoever wants to buy it. But, as stated above, depends on the state.
     
  8. PanzerAce

    PanzerAce Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N37°18'37" W120°29'50"
    well, since no one has done it yet:

    :rofl:
     
  9. kutkota

    kutkota New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wondering how long that would take.
     
  10. PanzerAce

    PanzerAce Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N37°18'37" W120°29'50"
    dont worry, transfer laws are even more FUBAR in CA than they are in the rest of the country. I dont even know really what transfers dont have to go through a FFL any more :dunno:
     
  11. ledzep73

    ledzep73 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    If Im not mistaken, in Kentucky anyone who is 18+ can buy a pistol from a private party completly legal?
     
  12. kutkota

    kutkota New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I am not mistaken someone in this thread wants to buy my armalite a2 for 650.
     
  13. vettefan52

    vettefan52 Guest

    no, 21+ for all pistols ANYWHERE in the us.
     
  14. Slick26

    Slick26 Gun|Bike|Cigar|PS3|Beer |Whisky|Night Crew

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    47,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mini Soda
    Yeah he's right. It's 18+ for rifles and shotguns.
     
  15. Accord

    Accord New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Not true. Federal law only states that you must be 21 to purchase a handgun from an FFL dealer, nothing more. You only need to be 18 to purchase, own, and posess a handgun, BUT 21 to purchase from an FFL dealer - so you can buy a handgun anywhere as long as it's not an FFL dealer, so private party or a gunshow. The only exceptions to this is if you're in a commie state like California or Ohio which requires you to register your guns, in which case you're SOL until you're 21, but in Florida if you're under 21 you just go to a gun show and can buy any handgun you want as long as the seller isn't an FFL dealer.
     
  16. ledzep73

    ledzep73 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    Thats what I was thinking, thanks for clearing that up.
     

Share This Page