Done building, PC won't power up! :sulk:

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by pharcyde183, Aug 6, 2004.

  1. pharcyde183

    pharcyde183 Nissan by nature

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    The green light on the mobo comes on to indicate the system is getting power but the front POWER button will not turn on the system when pressed.

    Yes, i know all the front connectors are plugged into the right place on the mobo. What could be the problem here?
     
  2. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,747
    Likes Received:
    2
    reset cmos :dunno:
     
  3. pharcyde183

    pharcyde183 Nissan by nature

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    that really work lol? i'll try it
     
  4. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,747
    Likes Received:
    2
    yes, it's a common thing alot of ppl overlook
     
  5. pharcyde183

    pharcyde183 Nissan by nature

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    Thanks, i found out that i had been stupid, i left the CMOS jumper on 'reset' cmos instead of regular operation. Thanks :hs:
     
  6. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,747
    Likes Received:
    2
    :rofl: told ya, ppl always overlook the cmos. 75% of ppl who build their pc and it doesn't boot , it's that problem :mamoru:
     
  7. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I actually got a hold of a bad board last fall. First Asus SK8N I tried was bad. It also was picky about RAM.
     
  8. zero xeal

    zero xeal Guest

    I dont really trust asus mobo's though they make some good stuff, my raedon 9600 xt is asus, im still mad that raedon stopped making their own cards and took the path of nvidia ...
     
  9. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    im sure other comapany's made 3dfx cards 2. i have too voodoo 2's sitting here that were made by creative.
     
  10. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    a friend of mine who works at a small computer shop said it well when he said as long as you get one that works, asus boards are geat, but they do see a fair amount of DOA's like i got. as long as it works out of the box, you're golden.
     
  11. JimboJones

    JimboJones Guest

    I once got caught with the same CMOS reset problem.
    My complaint with it was that the literature that came with the board didn't mention the default setting of that jumper at all.
    They mentioned the jumper, but did not say that it was factory set to reset and needed to be changed to get the motherboard running.
    Would have saved me some time!
     

Share This Page