A&P Doing sunrise/sunset time lapses

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by havelegs, Sep 17, 2009.

  1. havelegs

    havelegs Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX
    I've done a few time lapses with pretty good results, nothing epic yet http://www.vimeo.com/user2201646/videos .

    A question that I have is how to you set your exposure up for a sunset. For example as the sun passes in front of the lens you'll need a fast shutter or closed aperture. Now as the sun goes down, I want to capture the tones in the sky/clouds without it being under exposed. Should I adjust the shutter/aperture as the sun is going down or just set it and forget it?
     
  2. Waddup you?

    Waddup you? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    45,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sandy Eggo
    I dont have an answer to your question, but just wanted to say, damn those vids are awesome. what did you use and how?
     
  3. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,131
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    east coast
    I set my aperture on "manual" and adjust in very small (1/16 f/stop) increments as the sun goes down. If you set it on "auto" you'll get exposures all over the place if a cloud passes in front of the sun.
     
  4. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    amazing videos, i really want to try this out some time
     
  5. havelegs

    havelegs Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX

    Thank you, I'm using a Nikon D80 with an external remote timer set to take a shot every 2 seconds or so depending on the videos done. I think compile the pictures in Quicktime pro and make a movie out of it. I also add the music in QT pro too.
     
  6. havelegs

    havelegs Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX
    Yeah I set up on manual but I set the shutter and aperture and leave it there until it goes dark. So what you're doing is manually adjusting the aperture? Is this causing any types of flickering in your vids?
     
  7. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    i tried this once for the ATL skyline
    super short, i plan to go around the city and add some more in.
    click to view
    [​IMG]
     
  8. havelegs

    havelegs Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX
    That's pretty cool Xenon. Did you touch the shutter/aperture while doing this or just initially set it to a value?
     
  9. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,131
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    east coast
    Yes, I adjust about 1/16 of a stop at a time.

    No, not if you do it gradually. I've done a timelapse from full on sunny day to after dark using this method. I had to edit out the couple of frames where I would change ND filters but that was all.
     
  10. havelegs

    havelegs Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX
    Interesting, I'll have to give this a try. I do have to invest in some good quality ND filters though..
     
  11. BeachBoy

    BeachBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    I like the timelapse stuff you've done.

    I might try that on the sailboat this fall
     
  12. havelegs

    havelegs Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin TX

Share This Page