Doing abit of work to my car.. new wheels = new brakes?

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by narcisis, May 17, 2006.

1. narcisis

narcisis New Member

Hi guys,

I'm doing abit of work to my car and I'm pretty new to this, so please, excuse my auto-ignorance. You see I'm getting some new wheels soon and I keep hearing because of the increased weight in the rim I'm going to need better brakes. What would this consist of? Just replacing the brake pads and rotors? Or something further?

Also, most sites I goto only display 17 inch rims for my ride, some display 18, but the point is my car is designed for 17 inches so thats what I usually find on websites after putting in my car info. However I'm getting 19's, do you guys think it'll fit if I just get some lowprofle tires to compensate for the larger rim?

Many thanks for any help given! [​IMG]

2. Peechka

Peechka Peaches and Cream

Thats a load of Bs they fed you, dude.

the only reason you would need new breaks, as in larger rotors and reak calipers and shit, is if you increased the powerplant of the vehicle (like adding 100 horses), or significantly increased the weight of your vehicle.

Keep in mind that cars are designed for a particular size rim and tire. Back when I designed chassis suystems for ford, we used to do wheel jounce studies, which was taking a certain size rim and tire, and putting it into the maximum motions of the suspension. This then gave us a "zone" that the sheetmetal and exterior designers had to stay out of, so all the sheetmetal like the body side, the wheelhouse inner and wheelhouse liner were all designed for that particular tire and rim size.