does having jumbo frames enabled show noticable throughput improvements?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dorkultra, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    transferring files between my macbook and desktop. both as capable machines and connected with a gigabit switch. when i turn on jumbo frames, i don't see any improvement.

    so, i'm guessing the following is happening:
    -my switch does not support jumbo frames
    -samba tops out around 25MBPS
    right?
     
  2. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    the gigabit switch should support jumbo frames.

    the ethernet card in either the macbook or desktop may not support jumbo frames.

    even if you enabled it on all 3 (switch, mac, pc) you probably still might not see much, if any, improvement.
     
  3. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio

    macbook and desktop support jumbo frames. turned it on

    i guess i'd have to use a different protocol for better throughput
     
  4. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Teleca Q7; Brew 3.1.5; U; en) 480X800 LGE VX11000)

    Every single time I've built a new computer it's not transferred at full speed until 3 or 4 new BIOS-Drivers updates. I'd bet it's the PC unless you have a really cheap router/switch.
     
  5. Supernaut

    Supernaut New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try a "ping -l 8000 -f x.x.x.x" from the desktop to your MBP, that will tell you whether you are passing jumbo frames intact. If that fails, either the switch is not jumbo-frame capable or enabled, or the NICs are not configured with matching MTUs.

    You can repeat the test from the MBP to the desktop with "ping -D -s 8000 x.x.x.x"

    You might want to modify the value from 8000 to whatever MTU you are using, most commonly 9000.
     
  6. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    the mac gave me "message too long"

    my xp machine worked at passed through 9000MTU packets. i did not see an increase in throughput though. still around 25MBPS. oh well, not big deal
     

Share This Page