Does anyone use McAfee??

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Sionell89, Jan 20, 2006.

  1. Sionell89

    Sionell89 I grew up when I wasn't looking

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Flori-duh
    I've been 'downloading an update" for a freakin' hour. And it tells me I shouldn't shut down.

    Is this normal?
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,361
    Likes Received:
    255
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Its normal for McAfee because its a piece of shit. http://free.grisoft.com for something better.
     
  3. typ44

    typ44 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Find free antivirus software unless you can get free updates from McAfee like me.
     
  4. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    You can safely shut down if you wanted to... Hang in there, if it's a critical update chances are there are a lot of people getting it right now which means slower transfer rates and a longer wait.
     
  5. YoSmoovKid

    YoSmoovKid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Capitol of NJ
    haha... i've been downloading since yesterday... it's brutal. I'm thinking of switching back to the Enterprise Version and scrap the PE.
     
  6. Sabrewulf

    Sabrewulf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    :werd::mamoru:
     
  7. kronik85

    kronik85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    34,837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Deutschland
    nod32 ftw.
     
  8. vtectyper

    vtectyper New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    KasperSky FTW!!
     
  9. lambirjs

    lambirjs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have McAffee and the longest I ever wait was an hour. I used Norton before McAffee and it really sucks. I try a few of the free ones like AVG but find them lacking.
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    McAfee Stinger is a great virus removal program because you can put it on a read-only floppy disk and run it in Windows Safe Mode, but ViruScan is garbage. Use Norton SystemWorks instead, the updates are a lot faster and the Speed Disk defragmenter is worth the cost of the whole software bundle.
     
  11. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,469
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    hmm...McAfee on my comp takes like 2 mins to update at most. Then again its ViruScan Enterprise not retail.
     
  12. Sirkraker

    Sirkraker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    McAfee FTW!!! only cause comcast gives it for free
     
  13. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    screw mcafee, get avg, its free for home users and a lot better
     
  14. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Personally, nod32 ftw.
     
  15. ZeusH8sU

    ZeusH8sU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    nod32 is the best paid service along with mcafee coming in at a far away second place.AVG is the best free virus scanner but not as good as some of the paid options.

    But as long as you practice common sense you dont really need them.

    Dont open e-mail attachements from people/e-mails you dont know and stay away from P2P they can get nasty.

    Software firewalls are also a joke,they can be easily disabled as long as you use a router and for peace of mind you can use windows firewall.
     
  16. Sionell89

    Sionell89 I grew up when I wasn't looking

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Flori-duh
    Thanks everyone. I appreciate the help.

    As for McAfee, I've had that and Norton and it seems like McAfee catchs more crap. Though the spam blocker catches too much of the important stuff.
     
  17. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    linux ftw:bowdown: but when I used windows I had kaspersky ditch the Mcafee shit!
     
  18. doug05257

    doug05257 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got Trend Micro PC-Cillin... seems to work well.
     
  19. Boogieman117

    Boogieman117 PSN: Boogieman117

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    17,554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    20678/20657 area
    :cool::cool:Respect the lil red K.
     
  20. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,361
    Likes Received:
    255
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    I read an article on antivirus programs and Kaspersky is always the first out with updates when new viruses hit. Within hours they're got an update.
     

Share This Page