does anyone know of a script or bot i could use to mirror a website?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Scream_Phoenix, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. Scream_Phoenix

    Scream_Phoenix Handsome Boy Model

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Messages:
    45,110
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Capital City
    i would need this to be able to run automatically, so that it can harvest the content and upload it to my server for me every hour or so. ideally it would be configurable so that it only shows text, no pictures or hotlinks.

    my work bans .coms, but it has been so slow lately i get bored. i would like to be able to browse sites like gizmodo from my own website, which is not banned from there servers (.org). this may seem unethical to some of you, but it is a call center job, so show some pity :o
     
  2. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
  3. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Have you tried setting up your browser to use a proxy server? I dunno how well their firewall rules are setup. But maybe you can get out on a proxy and then the 'net is all yours again...
     
  4. Scream_Phoenix

    Scream_Phoenix Handsome Boy Model

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Messages:
    45,110
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Capital City
    we have very limited access to any options in all the applications we have available to us, so im not sure if that would work, but ill look into how it is done and see if theres something i can work out.

    is there a way i can put up a java VNC client on my webpage, and then use it to access my home pc from it? i wonder if they banned external ip addresses or just .coms... i might be able to log directly into my pcs ip...

    i looked at wget but i couldnt find anything to automate the download/upload
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    You could try writing or finding a Java applet that acts as a web browser, then embedding it in a page on your website. I'm not sure if this would work, but it's an idea :dunno:
     
  6. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  7. Scream_Phoenix

    Scream_Phoenix Handsome Boy Model

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Messages:
    45,110
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Capital City
    this is working nicely, i hope it works from work, ill try it on fri when i get back :big grin:
     
  8. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    :cool:
     
  9. Jesse

    Jesse PSN: iamajesse; XBL: Inhale My Rod; G8 GT crew; Ne OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    25,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California :: (925)
    If that doesn't work try to run MSTSC from your run command line in windows. This should launch remote desktop. If it does, you might just consider setting up remote access to your home comp. Thats how I used to have to browse the net.
     

Share This Page