Does anyone here have a CCNP?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Der SchattenJager, Sep 9, 2009.

  1. Der SchattenJager

    Der SchattenJager Kupo, asshat.

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    23,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Or dare I say, CCIE?

    If so, how tough is it to get? I probably wouldn't need a CCIE (nor am I probably smart enough to pass the test), but how hard is a CCNP cert? Or, barring that, is a CCNA good enough to get a good job?

    I'm thinking of making a career change. I'm a web developer and designer, but I'm not happy with the opportunities in my area. I'm interested in network administration, and I'm young enough (30) that I could dedicate some time to work my way up the Cisco ladder.

    Is this a good idea? :hsd:
     
  2. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I went from zero to CCNP in about a year. It's definitely not easy though. And, without experience, you'll have a tough time finding any real networking position.
     
  3. Der SchattenJager

    Der SchattenJager Kupo, asshat.

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    23,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Wow, that's pretty fast.

    How much did you study?

    I imagine I'd have to get an entry level position and work my way up.
     
  4. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I studied a ton. I read the cert books and watched videos.

    Also, when I say "zero", I mean I didn't have any Cisco certs. I did have a bit of networking experience though, I had been doing systems work for a few years prior.
     
  5. FormulaLS1

    FormulaLS1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am sure a lot of places would feel iffy about hiring a CCNP with no real world experience.

    Why don't you get your CCNA get some work experiencie while progressing to the CCNP.
     
  6. Der SchattenJager

    Der SchattenJager Kupo, asshat.

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    23,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Did you have a Network+ cert or anything like that?
     
  7. Der SchattenJager

    Der SchattenJager Kupo, asshat.

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    23,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    I'm sure. Like I said, I realize I'd have to start at an entry level position. I'm just trying to get an idea of how far it's necessary to go up the Cisco certs to get a good job. What would be ideal would be to get on someplace that will pay for training/certs.
     
  8. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Fuck no. I worked my way through Cisco stuff, CCENT (about as basic as N+), CCNA, CCNA: Voice, CCNP. CCIE written before the end of the year hopefully, then the lab sometime next year.
     

Share This Page