SRS Does anyone have tics? (TS? OCD? NTD?) And how did you treat them?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Falconer, Apr 9, 2008.

1. Falconer

Falconer OT Supporter

Someone I know was recently diagnosed with "nervous tic disorder" and I've been doing some research on the subject. Apparently a significant percentage of people have or have had tics at one point in their life, but they are often mild or unnoticed.

This has also made me freak out a little bit because the other day someone pointed out to me that "you always clear your throat before you speak." That's technically a vocal tic. I'm a corporate trainer and spend a large part of my day at work speaking in front of groups of people. I feel like I need to have a clear voice and if I don't clear it first, my voice sounds phlegmy.

So my research has lead me to believe that there are no medications specifically designed to deal with tics, but some antipsychotics seem to work occasionally, altho they have horrible side effects.

If you have tics, what were they, how bad were they, and what kind of treatment have you tried, and how did it work?

2. Socrates

Socrates New Member

I usually only do the OCD stuff if I am feeling anxious.

I'll count my steps and get irritated if I don't end up on my right foot on the 11th step.

Sometimes I'll click my teeth from the left side to the right side back and forth until I hit the number 11, and again, get irritated if the 11th click isn't on my right side.

If I am in a room and there is some random white or bright colored object in the middle of the floor or out in the open, I get anxious and must pick it up.

The most common one I do is pick out an object and bisect it in my vision with the "see-through" line that my nose makes up when I look left or right.

Therapy for Depression/Anxiety has really calmed these down. Basically, just becoming overall more calm and less anxious is the best way I was able to stop doing these so much.