Does anyone actually LIKE Windows Vista?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by hawk_196, Jul 19, 2008.

  1. hawk_196

    hawk_196 Light Yourself on Water

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    10,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I can't see any positives.. I recently (yesterday) got a new laptop from HP. Its a beast compared to my old computer, yet I really don't feel like I've made an improvement in performance.

    My old computer had Windows XP and Ubuntu Fiesty installed
    2.8 Ghz Pentium 4
    512 mb PC 2600 ram
    and a 128mb nVidia 6600 GT video card.

    My new laptop has Windows Vista Home installed
    AMD Turion 64 Dual Core 2.0 GHz
    3 GB DDR2 ram
    and an nVidia 7150 integrated card with 1 gb shared ram

    But all the programs are still as slow as ever. Crap takes forever to load when I'm using the DVD drive. I don't know if my expectations were too high for a 64bit processor and 6x the amount of ram, but I had no problem running multiple processes in Ubuntu.

    Some people say its the visual effects of Vista that clog it down, and I'm starting to think that it must be because they are so badly coded. I had Compiz Fusion running nonstop in Ubuntu and never had any hangup (and this is with multiple transparencies, physics effects, live previews and other demanding processes).

    This has left me with an overwhelming distaste for the quality of this supposed Windows Upgrade. Not to mention the plethora of antivirus and security software that came preinstalled on the computer.... What are everyone else's thoughts on this Stunning New Windows




    edit: Microsoft Smart Quotes messing everything up :uh:
     
  2. 04JETTA

    04JETTA OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10,437
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    The Prarie State/The Hoosier State
    its alright coupla my friends have it
     
  3. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    4gigs of RAM
    8800GTS 512
    7200rpm drives x2

    Vista runs pretty smoothly for me. :dunno:
     
  4. Davis

    Davis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vista runs better, for me, than XP ever did. :dunno:
     
  5. hawk_196

    hawk_196 Light Yourself on Water

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    10,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    you also have a dedicated card that is far superior to mine... does everyone need a high end graphics card just to run vista smoothly?
     
  6. hawk_196

    hawk_196 Light Yourself on Water

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    10,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    same computer? huh
     
  7. Davis

    Davis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same Compaq V2000 laptop.
     
  8. philvia

    philvia SUCKIN ON MY TITTIES LIKE YOU WANTIN ME CALLIN ME

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    11,619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    my laptop has shared memory and runs vista just fine too? its just cheap gateway laptop. vista has been nice to me
     
  9. Infiltrator

    Infiltrator Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2000
    Messages:
    21,191
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Among the locals.
    I haven't experienced many problems but if I was given the option of Windows XP Pro or Vista, I would still take XP Pro.
     
  10. redfred18t

    redfred18t New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western MA
    runs better than my other computer on XP

    then again, I have 3 gigs of ram in my vista comp
     
  11. hawk_196

    hawk_196 Light Yourself on Water

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    10,266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    well I can't play Counter Strike for some unknown reason. I installed it from the CD too.

    I'm blaming vista.
     
  12. Yail Bloor

    Yail Bloor OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    57,466
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    the streets
    don't forget that laptop specs do not translate to desktops with respect to performance

    (with the same specs, the desktop will perform better)
     
  13. Sh0v

    Sh0v New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    With one gig of shared video memory for the video card that means vista has available 2gb of memory. It has been said vista runs with 2gb as xp does with 1gb.

    An athlon 64 x2 is about 40% (which is probably what an amd turion is closet too) behind compared to a core 2 duo but I think your biggest bottleneck is its a laptop.

    If you had a core2 duo desktop or even a phenom desktop with 4gb of ram or so with at least a geforce 8200 onboard or 8500gt or higher you'd have a much better experience. An ati comparable video card would be fine as well.
     
  14. Davis

    Davis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    No reason to get childish just because you don't believe me. It is my work laptop (I am an SAP consultant) so it gets used more than most. In my experience, people who bitch about like Vista are people who have never used it, Apple fanboys, or ignorant people who feel they know stuff they know nothing about.

    Are there shortcomings? Yes. Are there features that you simply don't need and should turn off? Yes.
     
  15. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    If you want to run Vista with full Aero effects and still run smoothly with a bunch of apps open, yeah, it'll help to have a dedicated GPU.
     
  16. Davis

    Davis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    :werd:
     
  17. The Fugue

    The Fugue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    11,227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Our company is still considering the changeover. I'm not looking forward to it from what I have experienced so far.
     
  18. porsch1909

    porsch1909 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    30,072
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Scotland
    Only thing I did on my PC was upgrade the RAM to 2GB and I think vista is much better than XP :dunno:
     
  19. Vanilla Tarantino

    Vanilla Tarantino OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    25,195
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I have Vista and XP set to dual-boot on my laptop (Core2Duo, 2gb RAM, Radeon x1400), and I haven't booted into the Vista partition for probably half a year. I timed it once, and I was able to boot into XP and launch word, Opera, and AIM before Vista even made it to the log-in screen. Add to that that for some reason Vista decided to stop talking to my router (it did start talking to it again after about a week), and I was fed up with it.
     
  20. ormand

    ormand New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using Vista Ultimate x64 since August 2007 and I have loved it then as much as I do now. The only issue I had - still have - is finding an internal tv tuner card that is supported for vista x64 and a few other minor drivers.

    The pros outweigh the cons. And when you go back and forth between Vista and XP as I do for work, XP seems outdated.
     
  21. jdw

    jdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND
    Going to be stuck with Vista for -ANY- new machine now aren't you?
    My home machines are staying with XP Pro up until I decide to run Ubuntu on one. Work machine isn't up from lease for another year or so I think but I'm afraid I'll be stuck with Vista once I get a new one. I have a feeling a few more people, including myself, will be dual booting primarily into Ubuntu for our day to day and keeping Vista there for the Adobe Suite programs.
     
  22. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    a friend of mine bought an hp desktop that came with vista. it only has 1gb of ram. it runs like crap, it took him almost 20 minutes to install nero. he has about 100mb of ram free. he's like "well, they should give you the amount of ram you need from the factory"

    yeah, hes retarded

    i have vista on one of my desktop computers only because the tuner card will only work with vista media center and nothing else. tried linuxmce, mediaportal, winxp media center, mythtv etc, nothing will work except vista media center
     
  23. Davis

    Davis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not with enterprise licensing. :)

    I agree with the statement that an IT department which switches to Vista is dumb; unless they have no other option.
     
  24. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Our entire company has gone to vista without a problem.. you just can't have monkeys running the network. Most IT depts that have problems moving over to vista are related to horseshit Domain Policies that don't work/break the domain controller.
     
  25. Davis

    Davis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    I say it because there really isn't a benefit to going to Vista. Why put your users through a transition, and put strain on your help desk, if you don't have to.
     

Share This Page