Does anybody actually USE Konqueror?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by deusexaethera, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a nice little browser, if quirky -- but then, everything in KDE is a little quirky...
     
  2. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I have friends who do.

    Personally, I stay away from anything associated with KDE.
     
  3. Clarity

    Clarity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    KDE is decent, but I prefer GNOME and XFCE over it. KDE looks like it trys to hard to have good eye-candy. It doesn't appeal to me.
     
  4. JayC71

    JayC71 Guest

    I used it to go to firefox.com....
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Opera > * > FireFox > Konqueror.
     
  6. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    IE7 > Firefox?? Surely you jest.

    Anyway, it's interesting to note that Safari is based on Konqueror. One of my coworkers uses it to test webpages for Safari compatibility because the company won't fork over the cash for a copy of OSX.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Heh...that's a pretty common sentiment I've noticed among NIX geeks -- KDE is too pretty to be respectable, it's the French whore of Linux desktops. Oddly enough, I've found it to be just as useful as XFCE (running on my old laptop), yet much easier on the eyes.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I hate firefox. The only reasons I even have FireFox is to test my web apps and because Sprint PCS's online account management does a "browser check" and thinks Opera is on a phone so it dumbs the interface down. If it wern't for that, I wouldn't use it.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    negative ghostrider. XFCE can be fully anti-aliased and support true alpha-blending. It supports plenty of eye candy. The main differences between KDE and XFCE is that XFCE is stable long enough to actually get something done, and it's not a bloated piece of shit.
     
  11. CoFaRotheRu

    CoFaRotheRu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    12,552
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    I used it for while some time back. Now I use Opera and Firefox. I'm not really into Firefox though. I like Konqueror better, since I know it shows the pages right. I'm not sure if it's changed, but Firefox 1.5 didn't render everything correctly, and surely didn't pass the acid2-test. BTW, isn't Safari built on it?
     
  12. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Safari is derivative of Konquerer.
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've gotten my XFCE setup to look pretty nice at this point, but thus far I've only been able to achieve part of what KDE comes with straight out of the box. Granted, my Linux skills aren't too impressive at the moment, but then again, presumably that's why KDE comes preconfigured with pretty shit -- so I don't have to set it up myself.

    What versions of KDE have you used that are so unstable? 3.5 has given me no trouble thus far.
     
  14. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    I like KDE, I just have GNOME setup how I like and wouldn't be arsed to switch. Really I don't think it matters much, I'd use either.

    I use quite a few KDE apps on GNOME though, they've some excellent stuff. Kate and K3B namely.

    I'm looking forward to KDE 4.0, and will really be trying it out.

    XFCE I like too, I used to use it when I was overly concious of GNOME and KDE memory usage, but sure even on 256mb Linux memory management managed very very well.
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    K3B is a great burning program, I gotta agree with you on that one.
     
  16. 1fastgst

    1fastgst New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Believe it or not, I found that epiphany will parse things that firefox wont. Weird. As for Konqueror, I wont run any kde apps while in gnome (which I primarily use) because it likes to bring up all the kde daemons/library framework which is quite memory intensive.
     
  17. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Opera still let you set your user agent string in the preferences?
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, but Opera still renders in a standards-compliant manner. FireFox does not... So Opera can be told to pretend to be FF to the web server, but it's still going to render the site in an "Opera" way.
     
  19. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    But I thought the problem was that the site assumed your browser was on a phone and sent a minimalistic version :confused:
     
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yea, I'm an idiot. I checked "Identify as FireFox" in the Opera Quick-Preferences and now the Sprint PCS site works great... thanks.
     
  21. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    the computers at my college have suse with KDE desktop and konqueror. no one uses konqueror, because they added in firefox to the image and thats what everyone uses
     
  22. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, you can't really get rid of Konqueror on KDE anyway, because it's also the file manager. Kinda kinky, isn't it?
     
  23. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yea but when MS does it, it's anti-trust... when it's another company, no one cares :rolleyes:
     
  24. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    What company's behind KDE? Even if there is one, they are in no near-monopolistic position in any market. In fact, every "other company" is hardly nearly as powerful as Microsoft. It's not so fucking simple jolly, but you're welcome I suppose to push for anti-trust convictions against whoever you want. Was Microsoft ever convicted for integrating a web-browser anyhow?
    It's a lot more than that.

    Konqueror is what explorer.exe has pipe dreams of becoming.
     
  25. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, because KDE is such a monopoly! DAMN that Linus and his evil ways!

    :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
     

Share This Page