A&P Do you use autofocus?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Alt+F4, May 5, 2006.

1. Alt+F4

Alt+F4 official OT hockey stud

As I said in my other thread, I took a million pics with my D70 at my neice's first birthday party last weekend. I'm a noob so my thought process was this...it was indoors, somewhat low light, so high ISO + a wider aperture should allow me some faster shutter speeds. This kid is just learning how to walk and whatnot so you kinda need decent speeds to catch some shots. My worry was that with such a shallow DoF (because of lower f-number), that if I used autofocus it wouldn't focus on the right parts and I'd miss some shots. Well, what ended up happening was I used manual focus and found out I really really suck ass at it, and missed some shots anyways. Some great shots I had (when she had the cake all over her face, pretty funny shots), I have maybe two or three keepers out of 25 shots.

Is it common to use autofocus all the time?

2. N-Word-Jim

N-Word-Jim Cure for boredom

It's quite common to use autofocus all the time, especially with entry/pro-sumer DSLRs. The viewfinder is just not good enough to focus with manually for 99% of the population.

Don't focus and recompose, select your focus points and use them.

3. Alt+F4

I realize it may differ between Nikon and Canon, but what autofocus settings would be more useful in a low-light, candid "people" shots? I have Thom Hogan's guide to the D70, and it looks like single-servo is preferable to continuous-servo, using the keypad to select which sensor to focus onto. I've never actually changed the AF sensor mid-shooting so I don't know how long it takes, but I think that may have led to me missing less shots.