Do you use a belt?

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by JustBlazin, Jun 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JustBlazin

    JustBlazin Ironic Punishment

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto/Waterloo/Bogota
    I went to DL 325 today, and some random stops me before i'm about to lift and asks if i'm wearing a belt. i say no, and he's like well i'm no personal trainer but you really should. i was just like :ugh: and lifted anyways.

    am i in the wrong? should i be wearing a belt? i don't feel that i'm lifting anything substancial so i haven't gotten one.

    granted here in colombia, it seems everyone wears a goddamn belt, even if they weigh 125lbs and doing tricep kickbacks :rolleyes:
     
  2. Ferrous

    Ferrous New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't every use a belt when deadlifting, heavy set = reps w/ 485.

    I use a belt on heavy sets on squats 405+...
     
  3. Damnation

    Damnation OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    69,881
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    South Florida
    i tried to wear one once and ended up not being able to pull 225. i don't know how to use it, so i just don't :dunno:
     
  4. erok81

    erok81 All your canyons are belong to me!!

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    I don't use a belt.

    Granted I only lift; DL 375, back squat 275, front squat 225, all for 3-5 reps.
     
  5. michael

    michael FLORIDA > *

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    81,899
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    paradise
    i do when i get past 315 on dl's.. before that, i don't.
     
  6. TZ

    TZ Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    39,483
    Likes Received:
    1
    I only use a belt when I'm going for a big PR on deadlift or wide stance parallel squats. after my pl meet i'm not going to use a belt at all for awhile, gotta get my core and back stronger
     
  7. Layman

    Layman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Army of Northern Virginia
    Only once I pass three plates on DL and squat, but I was pulling 455 before without it and had no problems...
     
  8. Hpower

    Hpower GO GATORS

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gainesville, Fl
    never use one, that includes 550 dl's
     
  9. y1997

    y1997 Made in the U.S.S.R.

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit
    Never use it.
     
  10. Perkwunos

    Perkwunos Dog Bones OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    10,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Abu Dhabi, UAE
    I use a cheater belt on heavier attempts at things, to help me lift the weight.
     
  11. cavefish

    cavefish You ain't a crook son, you just a shook one

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    I use a belt because I'm not as hardcore as yall.
     
  12. kamiraa

    kamiraa OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    10,732
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Texas
    I haven't used a belt yet. Does it just prevent you from going back to far? Im starting to go pretty high recently.
     
  13. bear

    bear frankly rover i dont give a "woof

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    I use a belt on every squat and every deadlift. Is there anything wrong with using it? I only use it because because i hurt my back last year and it makes it feel nice.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page