MIL Do you live the military lifestyle?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Maffy29, Apr 2, 2008.

1. Maffy29

Maffy29 Active Member

I was thinking about this while trying to fall asleep. I thought about posing this question to the part timers here, but figured anybody could provide a useful opinion.

Do you live a military lifestyle?

What I mean by that is how much does the military affect your day-to-day life? I know this may vary greatly between active duty and reservists, but I did the same thing while I was on active duty. When I was off duty, I was off. I did nothing to show anybody that I was a soldier. I did my best to refrain from using military terminology, I wore no clothing that said "Army", I had no Army window stickers or license plate frames that said "Army". I would do my best to blend in with the surrounding population. If it wasn't for my accent, I could have done it while at Ft Carson (I played a pretty good Denver Broncos fan). Hell, I don't even tell people that I'm in the National Guard until I deem it appropriate. Some guys in my National Guard unit live and breathe the National Guard. They wear those black Army jackets you can buy in basic training, they wear Army hats, stickers on their cars, military pictures as computer desktop backgrounds, etc. I could go on all day. I had my patriotism questioned by another soldier because he thought I was not proud to be in the military. I'm proud of what I do and I'm glad I'm doing it. The military has had a positive effect on my life.

2. Ranger-AO

Ranger-AO I'm here for the Taliban party. Moderator

the military has strongly influenced just about every aspect of my life since the day I was born. Military brat, enlisted shortly after graduating high school, joined the reserves a few years after I left active duty, my sons went into active duty right out of high school, and now I'm bad in the National Guard - and deployed. It would be very hard for me to not let some of my military background show.