Do macs have huge memory leaks?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Marcos, May 2, 2003.

  1. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    I use macs at college, and even after i quit all the applications, and even if i only have 1 internet explorer window open (for example) it sometimes says its short in memory.

    :wtf:

    Any tips?

    I know in windows you can clear all unnecessary processes int he task manager, is there anything smilar on mac os?
     
  2. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    If you are using MacOS X, it is like any UNIX operating system. Open up the terminal and type top. That will show you what processes are running and what resources they are using.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    running mac os9
     
  4. Phreck

    Phreck Apple Crew Horra!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Yes, mac os 9 did have a lot of issues with memory. Especially with IE being as it's a microsoft product and they didn't give a flying fuck about what they made for the mac. It's not that way in OS X, it's a lot better.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Damn, i cant really go round upgrading the college's macs to OSX :p, what about ctrl+alt+del? anything like that?
     
  6. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Using any Mac OS pre-OSX is counterproductive (IMHO). My parents both use macs, my dad's are OSX, my mon's is OS9. Can't stand using my mom's but love using my dad's :)

    Oh, but the equivalent of c-a-del is ctrl-opt-esc or com-opt-esc if I remember correctly (force quit... anyone remember that?).
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    force quit...what if, its half crashed, and you need to shut off a background program?

    And i dont remember seeing an opt key
     
  8. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Opt = option, it should be between the command key and the control key.

    And I don't know of any way to kill programs other than the one you're using at the time (in OS9, in OSX you can do it with the terminal).
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    Ok, thanks, i'll try it out on tuesday at college, im sure the mac will crash at least once during my day :p
     
  10. Jericho

    Jericho Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    34,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    well there is a reason why they decided to base MacOS X on Unix..
     
  11. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yep, I crashed my mom's OS9 machine almost every time I used it (back when I used it extensively).
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Britain
    If OSX is all that, i'll have to try and convince the college to upgrade, but that would probably cost them mucho £££.

    And are all OS9 programs compatible with OSX?
     
  13. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    OSX can run OS9 programs by starting OS9 within itself (Classic). If you start Classic at startup, then it's almost as quick as running an OSX program.
     
  14. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    my old OS 9.1 mac sucks ass too - every time I try to run anything other than appleworks the system crashes like a little bitch. And yet mac always has claimed to be "so reliable..." BS....
     

Share This Page