Do I need a hardware firewall/router anymore?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Jackhole, Apr 20, 2005.

  1. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    I had a router/hardware firewall at my old place because we had 2 computers. At my new place, it's just me here. As long as I have personal file sharing turned off, I should be all set right? I don't need to install the firewall?

    In the Sharing pane, there's an option for Firewall, which is currently off. What are the advantages of turning it on? If I do turn it on, will it interfere with my usage of Acquisition, AIM, DC, etc?
     
  2. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    you should always put your stuff behind a router/firewall if you have it available unless you have a really good reason not to.
     
  3. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Why?
     
  4. Spinkick

    Spinkick Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    27,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    So you dont get hacked, officer.
     
  5. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Right, but I have personal file sharing and remote access turned off.

    You guys are recommending that I use a firewall. Should I use the hardware on I have, or the software one in the control panel.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    hardware firewall is always best.

    having file sharing and remote access off does NOT protect you.
     
  7. agent0068

    agent0068 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    39,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    having services disabled leaves you less prone than if you had them enabled. having a hardware rather than a software firewall for the average user really makes no difference and all you'd have to do is turn on the software or hook in the hardware. hardware is vulnerable to its own set of vulnerabilities just like software is (and if you think about it, what is a hardware router doing? it runs its own software)
     
  8. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    So I should just turn on the firewall? Anything special I need to do with it for the different programs I use (AIM, DC++, Acquisition, etc)
     
  9. Spinkick

    Spinkick Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    27,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI
    Use a hardware firewall. Linksys routers are hardly firewalls but a hardware firewall is ALWAYS better than a software one you turn on. Why have your computer inspect every packet when you can get some other hardware to do it and keep the cpu load open for useful things like watching porn.
     
  10. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    :werd:

    Hardware routers also do NAT (Network Address Translation), which will provide passive protection for your entire network by assigning the external IP Address to your router and assigning internal IP addresses to all the other devices on your network...

    http://computer.howstuffworks.com/nat.htm
     
  11. Rev. Johnny Vegas

    Rev. Johnny Vegas Rectal Ventriloquist

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2001
    Messages:
    66,633
    Likes Received:
    143
    Location:
    250 miles north of home
    Agree with everyone on the hardware firewall. The more work you can offload from your PC, the better. And doing things in hardware is far more efficient than doing it in software.
     
  12. Laserbeak

    Laserbeak Remember kids! Be like Billy! BEHAVE YOURSELVES!

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    22,919
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    WA
    In terms of network security, NOTHING beats having a hardware firewall, and having all your networked equipment behind your router using private IP addresses.

    Think of it this way, you've got a completely seperate piece of hardware (your firewall/router) that specializes in keeping your network secure and operates off of firmware instead of software, which is traditionally more secure due to its proprietary nature, provided it's set up properly.

    With this, you are effectively able to mask your home network from the entire world, except for ports and services you open to incoming traffic.
     
  13. Jackhole

    Jackhole New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    69,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    OK, thanks for the info. I had the software one turned on, I'll hook up the hardware one today. It's a D-Link DI-701 Residential Gateway.
     
  14. Laserbeak

    Laserbeak Remember kids! Be like Billy! BEHAVE YOURSELVES!

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    22,919
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    WA
    Good choice. Anything but Linksys is my motto. :p
     

Share This Page