Do I need 2 gigs of memory for a server??

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mycophiles, Jan 1, 2009.

  1. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I'm thinking 1 gig is more than enough. Am I right?
     
  2. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    What will this server be serving, and what OS will it be running?
     
  3. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i have 2 gigs in my server. it just streams some video, seeds torrents, rips some drm off of tivo files. ram is so cheap, might as well max it out
     
  4. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    Don't servers have like 64 gigs of ram and 4 or 8 processors?

    lol
     
  5. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    for a home file server, 1 GB is enough
     
  6. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only if they run Vista, thats the minimum requirement.
     
  7. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    so yeah, it all depends on the OS and what you plan on doing with it. you could build a linux server with less than 2Gb of memory if you shut off unnecessary stuff.
     
  8. notladstyle

    notladstyle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    windows 2008 server (vista) runs fine on 1gb with active directory and file services for 10-20 users.

    If you are just using it at home for your family you will never notice any problems.
     
  9. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't have to shut anything off for a Linux server with 2GB of memory.
     
  10. GearHead

    GearHead Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,963
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Murrika
    I run a 3 x 3.0GHz Xeon setup and it only has 1GB of RAM.

    Linux tho.
     
  11. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    WHS is what I'll be using. It will stream movies to 3 computers and do daily backups.
     

Share This Page