SRS Do I go back to school?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by kdrweez, Apr 27, 2010.

1. kdrweez

kdrweez New Member

I'm 25, I graduated a little over a year ago with a management degree from St John Fisher (a small but nicely ranked school). I did 2 years in RIT's IT program as well, and I have a very strong technical background. Still, a good job has been tough to come by. And the couple jobs I've landed so far really don't motivate me at all. My best friend is a pretty successful DJ, and he definitely enjoys his work; I'm happy for him and being able to help him out, and this also gives me a lot of inspiration.

I've been thinking about going back for something more specific, and more technical oriented. Based on my personal interests and skills, I could see doing web development, MIS, or pharm. I didn't graduate with the best GPA (2.8), so I've heard going for my master's would be really difficult.

:wtc: part: I feel like I'm going nowhere. I have super high standards for myself too. I want to REALLY enjoy my career, and I want the funds to support my hobbies without worry. All of my friends have been trying to help me get into something a little more appropriate (not pushing cell phones), but it's just not happening. Hundreds of applications, several reviews of my resume/cover letter, etc, and no results. I'd love to start something of my own (being my own boss really inspires me), but I don't have the capital to. I've been on the verge of giving up (not really, I don't believe in quitting), and I pretty much lost it a few days ago about all of this.

What do I do? My current job is taking a toll on me; I've lost lots of my determination, as well as friends, because of my resultant irritability. Am I too old for another couple years of undergrad? Can one usually transfer in credits and continue his education albeit in pursuit of another degree?

2. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter