Do certs matter as a student?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SPACECATAZ, Mar 7, 2009.

1. SPACECATAZ

SPACECATAZ New Member

Sup,

I've got two years left in my undergraduate for CS and I was wondering how well do certs matter in this day and age. Particularly I'm talking about the Sun Java Certs right now. I've touched C++ and I seem to be making my way towards Java next because that's where my next class is going. Should that matter at this point and time to me? I already have an internship lined up for the summer, so I'm not worried about job security or anything like that.

Thanks.

2. ChosenGSR

ChosenGSR Mama always said you'd be the chosen one

I am no recruiter so I can't talk about whether you'll score a job faster or not. I will however tell you that to me, it does demonstrate that at the very least you crammed for a while and maybe something has stuck with you :) I've been a developer for 6 years now, and never really been asked to get certified. Frankly, 99% of developers around me are not certified. That said I am personally working towards MCTS certifications at this moment. The only reason I am doing that is because I feel that someone in my position should have them :dunno:

That said I don't think you want to worry about certs before you get out of school. Make sure you do well in school and it will score you a job. I do recommend however that when you do score a full time job, dedicate 5hrs a week of outside of work time to study. You'll be amazed how quickly you can move up the ranks if you work hard.

3. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

You're going to be graduating soon and competing with others for a job which usually means you have very little practical experience dealing with real world issues....your internship helps. Anything you can do to differentiate yourself from the competition is a good thing so yes, certs can help.