Do any of you have permanent injuries that hinder your progress?

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by TQ, Sep 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TQ

TQ OT Supporter

I have a heirneated disc in my L4-L5 vertebrae

Because of that I didn't lift ANYthing (hell, it was hard enough tying my shoes :hs: ) for like 8-10 monthes.

At the beginning of the summer I started lifting again after putting on like 30lbs.

Since then I've dropped about 30 and have maintained the same weight for the last couple monthes (mainly because of poor dieting/alcohol---I'm still a fattie :o )

Anyways, I don't know if I'm just having a bad week but I've been weak as hell in every workout this week and to top it off I "turned" funny at some point this morning and my back has been sore ever since even though I deadlifted 215 3x last week without a problem. :mad:

it just bums me the fuck out. I've put in a lot of hard work over the last few monthes and I do something retarded like reach to grab something off of the floor a little too fast and next thing I know I feel like I just deadlifted a mountain :wtc:

I guess this is more of a drunken rant than anything.....sometimes it's just hard to stay motivated when you feel like no matter how strong you can get, little things can still hurt you :hs: :dunno:

2. LancerV

LancerV Something Happened OT Supporter

Herinated Discs arent permanet

3. TQ

TQ OT Supporter

The surgery is very risky

and the only alternative is to stay in shape and strengthen your core :hsugh:

Anyways my PT told me I would most likely have "bad" days for the rest of my life :wtc:

4. LancerV

Lumbar Microendoscopic Discectomy Surgery ftw

5. LancerV

And if you can still do any type of normal lifting I doubt it is herniated

6. TQ

TQ OT Supporter

:ugh:

I went through 2 monthes of physical therapy to build enough strength to lift weights.

And no, I'm not going to take the risk of making it worse by having surgery.