A&P do any of you guys print directly out of Lightroom? is there a f'n trick to it?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by ace3, Dec 17, 2008.

  1. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,602
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    lightroom 2, canon pro9000, canon plus glossy paper.

    i know to use the correct profile, set color/intensity to manual then none, then do manual print quality, and do #1.

    my monitor is calibrated (huey pro).

    the pictures are a touch darker than my screen, and the colors are nowhere near as vibrant.

    wtf?

    the pictures look okay, but nowhere near what they should.

    any tips?
     
  2. Hua

    Hua AZN photographer crew

    Joined:
    May 5, 2000
    Messages:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Are you actually using the right profile that is specific to your paper, and turning off color management?
     
  3. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,602
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    yes sir. SP1 = Photo Paper + Glossy, quality level = 1

    then i turned off color mgmt.

    sucks to spend this much on a printer, ink, and fucking paper, and have this be so difficult
     
  4. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,113
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    east coast
    I've been having problems lately printing from LR and getting the color correct too. I now print from PS and the pics look great.
     
  5. adamfool

    adamfool New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    uk
    Same problems here, I have to print from PS.
     
  6. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,602
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    any tips/tricks to that, or is it pretty much the same thing?

    is there a 'shortcut' to open up the image you're looking at in LR, in PS?
     
  7. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,113
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    east coast

    I'm not at my home computer at the moment so this is coming from memory, but in LR you can chose to "edit a copy in PS" and do your editing. When you save your work, LR will save your PS pic along side your original. It's one of the menus at the top of the screen in LR.
     
  8. johan

    johan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sahasrara; magnetic violet infinite
    right click, edit in Photoshop.
    When you save, LR will stack the PS edited version along side the un-ps'd

    Works great with CS3, no idea about prev versions.

    transitioning is very smooth. I do all my image tagging, mgmt, dodging, etc in LR, handoff to PS for more edits, then back to LR to continue on.
     
  9. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,602
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    thanks, guys.

    when you say "when you save", do you mean "when i save my work in photoshop" or in lightroom?

    i'll give it a try tonight. thanks!
     
  10. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,113
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    east coast
    Photoshop. LR saves all your edits automatically. It's wonderful. My version of LR (beta v.3.4) even gives me a reach around whenever I'm editing porn.
     
  11. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,602
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    that's pimp.

    i bought 8 8x10 frames from michaels for my office. now i'm printing a bunch of 4x6's to test the way PS prints using various selections in the print box.

    I just printed another 8x10 (of one i printed from LR), and it looked the f'n same.

    so, now i'm trying other routes.



    btw, mf101 uses release version 3.5 :o
     
  12. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,602
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    what a giant PITA.

    so far i've printed 9 4x6's to test the different combinations of:

    printer manages colors
    photoshop manages colors

    relative colormetric
    perceptual
    absolute colormetric
    saturation

    working rgb
    my paper profile
    adobe rgb

    none of them look right. THEN, i finally get one that looks right.

    when i look at the settings, it's "photoshop manages colors, working rgb, saturation" ... but i left the color management on in the printer dialog box (which you're supposed to turn off if PS is managing the color). :uh:

    what the fuck, seriously. all i want to do is print, and have it look just like it does on my screen.

    :mad:
     
  13. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,113
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    east coast
    Welcome to the club. I can't tell you how many sheets of paper I've wasted doing the same thing. Too many fucking colorspaces, profiles, etc to deal with.
     

Share This Page