DNS Service hanging

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SLED, Apr 17, 2005.

  1. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    I have a fresh installed MS 2003 DC also running exchange and about once a week i have to restart the DNS service because it will just quit taking requests. I can telnet to the port and try to run a query but it just times out. Service says it's running, nothing weird in the event logs. Anybody have any ideas? I'm thinking of installing SP1 :noes:
     
  2. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
  3. ProFX

    ProFX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU.
    My suggestion is to stop using the MS DNS service.
    FreeBSD with BIND9 on a 100$ x86 PC would likely outperform it and would clearly give you improved reliability.

    If you *insist* on Windows, make sure everything is patched and all updates are applied. If it is still happening, check the MS KB and/or log a support case with Microsoft!
     
  4. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    dude, you don't have to tell me about *nix with BIND. All of my servers are either sun or gentoo. This is a customer, and running FreeBSD/BIND is not an option. I've browsed around the MS KB and haven't found much at all.. especially since there is no specific related error code
     
  5. ProFX

    ProFX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU.
    Pesky customers.

    If the updates didn't fix it, a complete rebuild might. (windows and all..)
     
  6. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    i have had this problem with MS DNS on nt4. fix was to delete all the zones and recreate them. i did this twice over the course of ~3.5 years - sucks
     
  7. ShapeShifterz

    ShapeShifterz Longtime Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I concur. Not sure if you can do it with an AD integrated zone, but try exporting the data, reinstalling DNS, and then re-importing the zone data.
     

Share This Page