DNS issue

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by tragicher0, Nov 21, 2005.

  1. tragicher0

    tragicher0 Before I couldn't even spell DBA, now I are one OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,026
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Anthem, AZ
    Ok, heres my problem.

    2003 Enterprise server running Active Directory and DNS, named xxxxx.net. Company also has a web presense with the same namespace, hosted offsite. All machines on the domain work fine and dandy, except cannot resolve to the website. Any DNS requests for xxxxx.net map back to the domain controller.

    Tried adding a www record, for some reason when that happened, all machones lost connection to the domain DFS root, LDAP, and could not process GPO's.

    Any help would be nice, ive been thinking of dcpromo'ing the DC down and redoing everything. But I dont feel like redoing all the GPO's and login scripts


    Local DNS and Active Directory @ 10.134.1.100, 10.134.1.111
    Router 10.134.1.1
     
  2. ShapeShifterz

    ShapeShifterz Longtime Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    You need to create (or modify if it already exists) an A record for your xxxxx.net domain. Point it to your co-located webserver.

    You shouldn't have to be messing with dcpromo at all.
     
  3. tragicher0

    tragicher0 Before I couldn't even spell DBA, now I are one OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,026
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Anthem, AZ
    I meant to say, I was gonna redo it as a sub-domain like yyy.xxxxxx.net

    Problem is the website in on a shared server, will this still work?

    I'm going to try it now, will post results.
     
  4. ShapeShifterz

    ShapeShifterz Longtime Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    From my experience, having a separate namespace for internal / external DNS is a pain and really unnecessary. Keep it simple and use the same domain for both.
     
  5. tragicher0

    tragicher0 Before I couldn't even spell DBA, now I are one OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,026
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Anthem, AZ
    OK, looks like everything is good, I had to add a bunch of records since the web has a bunch of subdomain (shop, portal, get, etc). Everything pings good akthough FTP is timing out... Ill work on that next...
     

Share This Page