DNS Issue / Can't Join XP Machine to Domain

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ftslogger, May 13, 2003.

  1. ftslogger

    ftslogger OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,573
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    CLT
    Details:
    Windows 2003 Standard Server
    Full Active Directory w/ Exchange
    Running DNS, FTP, Terminal, Web Server

    I can't get my Windows XP Pro workstaion to join the domain.
    I have added IP entries in the HOSTS File, no dice
    I can't get outlook to resolve the mailbox, Mapped drives work fine every time....The Current setup is having the member machines on the same named workgroup as the domain...

    Anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    Are you running DHCP?

    Make sure your XP Pro machine's DNS server address have the ip address of the 2003 server as the first entry.
     
  3. ftslogger

    ftslogger OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,573
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    CLT
    The server is not giving out addresses. The router is the gateway, but I have static addresses and the router is the first for the dns server and secondary is blank. Should I add the Server as the secondary DNS?
     
  4. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    Yes, because thats where the clients need to go in order to look up all the active directory DNS bullshit
     
  5. ftslogger

    ftslogger OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,573
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    CLT
    I solved my own damn problem. I just joined two machines to the domain. That was simple enough, I are teh stupid. The simple things you overlook. :rolleyes:
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    A router is not a DNS server...
     
  7. ftslogger

    ftslogger OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,573
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    CLT
    Now wtf? Why won't outlook grab the name? I joined the domain and no dice...Ugh
     
  8. ftslogger

    ftslogger OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,573
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    CLT
    but it is getting the DNS information from my cable modem therefore you have to point it there or joo don't get out to the net.
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    No - you don't. Here's the scoop. Clients should have one DNS server that is pointed to your server (actually you should have two servers but that's not really the point here). The server has DNS running, and for lookups that the clients requests that it cannot meet, it passes them on to your ISP's DNS servers.
     
  10. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    if you are running Active Directory you NEED to be running DNS on that server, and also have your clients point to that as their DNS server. It's kinda gay, but not much you can do about it since active directory is so intertwined
     
  11. ftslogger

    ftslogger OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,573
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    CLT

    I got the machines on the domain no problem now... :big thumb: and I changed the primary and secondary DNS around as well, but I am still having a problem getting outlook to resolve my name on the exchange server...Strange stuff.
     

Share This Page