DIY network storage?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Soace Munky, Jun 15, 2005.

1. Soace Munky

Soace Munky New Member

I have some old SCSI drives lying around, i want to put together a system that i can have on my network so i can dump files there.
    aside from a stripped-down windows (or linux?) machine, i cant think of anything, im a terrible newbie.

Anybody looked into this before? Any hellp/tips greatly apperciated.

2. stoliohranj

stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

you've basically got it right.

you'll need a box to hold them i'd get a larger one, depending on how many drives you want to put in it.
    a motherboard with some sort of processor and ram - a p3 or amd k6/early athalon would do just fine assuming you're just using this for storage pc 133 sdram would be fine, 384mb would be fine, especially if you are running linux
    a system drive - a small ide drive prolly in the 5-20gb range
    a controller card - scsi controller with sufficient capabilities for the number of drives you are running
    a network card - any card should work
    power supply - will probably come with your case, but make sure you get one with enough punch to power up all of those drives.

linux would be cheapest (free) and if you get redhat 10 (i'm sure someone still has it served or a bit-torrent) it should be fairly easy to get up and running
    windows 2k or 2k3 server would be easiest, but that would required better processor/ram requirements and costs some major bank, sure you can get it illegally, but i would advise against that for several reasons.

3. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

they never had redhat 10... and why the fuck would you run an outdated (redhat) os anyway?

4. Soace Munky

Soace Munky New Member

excellentm thanx! thats exactly what im gonna do.
    im gonna build a box out of some wood, make it purty. i think i've got all the components somewhere in my basement.

5. stoliohranj