Dismantle Mac Mini **VID**

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Icedog, Jan 19, 2005.

  1. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
  2. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    cool. seems pretty painless. looks easier to open than the battery covers on a couple of cell phones i've owned.
     
  3. elcano

    elcano Guest

    nice.
    How about memory upgrades? Is it easy to get at the RAM slot?
     
  4. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
  5. Bolicious

    Bolicious Handleobraese

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2000
    Messages:
    43,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    Damn, that thing is so small.
     
  6. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    memory should be no problem once you get it open. replacing the HD among other things look like they'll be a little tougher.
     
  7. inamorata

    inamorata New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    :coold:

    now we need the FULL dismantelment :eek3:
     
  8. captainwang

    captainwang New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    does opening the mac mini void your warranty?
     
  9. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    I'm sure it does... if they can tell you did.

    there was a blurb on the apple page saying that installing RAM was for apple authorized people only. So based on that alone I would assume opening the mini would void the warranty.
     
  10. dmora

    dmora Guest

    :cool: this is what i was looking for. Now i can tear one down and swap the HD.
     
  11. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Go to http://www.micro-itx.com you'll find a mirco-itx mobo much like the Mini's stuffed into a teddy bear, an ATX PSU, Windows XP retail box (I'm sure if you tried hard enough you could get the Mini transfered into a OS X retail box) and other small cases.

    I wouldn't be surprised if the old G4 Cubes used something along the same lines as micro-ITX mobo. And if that is true, then Apple pretty much brough that to market place first along with many of their other 'first to the market' list.
     
  12. elcano

    elcano Guest

    gold!

    better yet, g4 mac classic anyone? :x:
     
  13. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    :mamoru: :bigthumb:
     
  14. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
  15. elcano

    elcano Guest

    Hmm, that first classic looks like absolute shite. :barf:
    The second one is passable, but it runs the wrong OS.

    What would be nice is if you could do a nice flush fit of a little LCD of the correct size (say one of those ones for cars), thus, upgrading to a colour screen and better rez.
     

Share This Page