SRS Dishes: the beginning of the end?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by DarkAngel19, Apr 20, 2008.

1. DarkAngel19

DarkAngel19 New Member

Main question:

I am in a longterm relationship of 2 1/2 years with my boyfriend and we are very well suited and get along very well. The only exceptions deal with something like like who does the dishes, which to me, the simplest of problems to fix (take turns), but to him is something else (not sure what).

So, gentlemen, my question is this: how can I get my boyfriend to do the dishes once (or twice if I'm lucky:)) a week without having to ask?

Little details:

Right now, I do them all the time, and if I need a break I have to ask him to help.

So far, I have brought up the topic in a (I feel) non-threatening way, saying something like "I'm a full time student at a University, work for the government part-time and am on the executive board of a major business, so sometimes I need help getting the chores done on the days where I get home at 10. Can you help me by maybe doing dishes?"

Somewhere along the way, it has become my job to do the dishes, so now he feels like 1) It's my job, why should he have to do it, and 2) It's my job, so when he does them he's doing me a favor.

Thoughts?

DA

2. johan

johan Active Member

Buy an dishwasher. Money's a problem?
    Get a cheap countertop one. $150 or less.

Don't go looking for trouble in the guise of "solutions" when there's a readily available fix.

I doubt he's particularly swayed by an argument that's based on how "important" you are. ...youre on the executive board of a big firm, you're working for the govt, youre doing this, you're doing that...

People usually respond better when you present them a personal request. As opposed to, you telling him he OUGHT to do work because you're more important.

Yes yes I know you phrased it as you're more BUSY but come on, you must know the subtext of what you said.