Dish Network DVR????

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jjski78, May 10, 2007.

  1. jjski78

    jjski78 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Right Here, aka You're Mom's House
    Ok, I was wondering if anyone knows of a way to rip what I have saved on my DVR to my computer HD. If it's relevant, I run Macs, sooo, if anyone knows a way, I would really appreciate it!
     
  2. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    You can get the box moded to have a firewire output, that's really the only way.
     
  3. jjski78

    jjski78 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Right Here, aka You're Mom's House
    Where would I get this done??
     
  4. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
  5. jjski78

    jjski78 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Right Here, aka You're Mom's House
    Figures, Windows only, fucking bill gates.
     
  6. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    I bet if your *nix box was able to use your firewire port and handle HD strems it would work, they just wouldn't help you set it up. :big grin:
     
  7. jjski78

    jjski78 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Right Here, aka You're Mom's House
    There are USB ports on the Dish DVR box. Wonder if they're 2.0?? Maybe the Mac will just recognize it as a HDD and let me pull files off it. Guess I gotta get a USB cable to try it out.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    doesn't work.

    The USB port interfaces with the dish DVR as a host -- not a device. They use it to get files to the pocket-dvr that dish sells.
     
  9. jjski78

    jjski78 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Right Here, aka You're Mom's House
    Dammit!!
     
  10. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    That's not entirely true, right now that's how it is. They've been promising external storage for a while now. They'll even have it on the non DVR (211) boxes. It may be a feature soon enough, they had a demo of it at the last Dish convention.
     

Share This Page