Dish Network / DirecTV Install Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by P07r0457, May 2, 2007.

  1. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    So was talking with someone today and we were both like, "wtf. Why do they always install the dish with that stupid crook to the side". It's like they installed it all perfect, then tilted it just to piss people off. The guy I was speaking with had installed his DirecTV himself, and he didn't put a lean on the dish, and he gets 92% signal (pretty good). I downloaded a .pdf from DirecTV and their self-install instructions mention nothing of needed a lean, or even to try one.


    So if you install these things... Why do you make the dish crooked?!?!?!?
     
  2. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    pics for clarification? not sure if i know what ur talking about
     
  3. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    you don't make it crooked.
    my installer set everything as level as possible
     
  4. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    You have three settings, skew, elevation and azimuth. Certain parts of the country everything looks straight, some places won't be like that at all. The arm itself should be level and straight.

    http://www.dishnetwork.com/content/our_products/installation/azimuth/index.shtml#

    That link will show you all three settings depending on your zip code. My skew is in the 90s (86401), outside of Boston it's near 130 . . .
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    according to that chart, my skew is like 81. But what is the purpose of the skew?
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    nevermind. I found it.
     
  7. blykins

    blykins New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Zeti Reticula Star System in the Orion Constellati
    My installation was set for today for DirecTV HD. The installer said I dont have a good enough view of the satellites so I cant get HD. I'm so pissed.
     
  8. Zeromancer

    Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    26,887
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simpsonville, SC
    so he didn't give you any options like pole mount out in your yard exc???
     
  9. blykins

    blykins New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Zeti Reticula Star System in the Orion Constellati
    it was going to be on a pole but there is nowhere in my backyard that has a good line of sight to the HD satellites. I currently have normal DirecTV and i'm gonna go buy an OTA HD antenna tomorrow.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    OTA HD is better for the locals, anyway. I have a HD DirecTV dish and I still use OTA for my locals. But I like the others (like Discovery HD) that you can't get OTA, too.
     

Share This Page