dirtbike question

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by φ, Jun 11, 2005.

1. φ

φ Eugenics is the self-direction of human evolution.

So I pulled my old dirtbike out of the garage the other day and it started up on the first try, but it wasnt running right.
    The bike wouldnt run on its own without the choke on so i rode it a little with the choke on just so it could get warmed up you know, but from second gear up after a second of giving it gas the engine would act like it wasnt getting any gas and it wouldnt acceletate any more--its like i was taking away the gas feed when increased the throttle. Not only that but it wont even run without the choke, even giving it gas. After a few seconds the engine would do the same as above with increasingthe throttle.
    i dont know what the hell is going on. i put a new spark plug in the thing but that didnt have any effect. I'm not a mechanic and i dont knowthe first thing about any kind of engine so i guess I'll just have to take it to a real mechanic unless you all know anything about what the problem could be.

2. Frequency

Frequency New Member

sounds like the carbs are gunked up you could try running a cleaner through, but you may have to have them re-built

3. Ivy Mike

Ivy Mike New Member

The carb on a dirtbike is probably pretty simple. You can take it apart and clean it out a bit.

They really aren't that tough or complicated. I used to be able to pull the one out of my old CR250 in about 5 minutes. I could tear it down clean and reassemble in about 25.

4. Clingman

Clingman Clingman runs Bartertown.

Drain your fuel and mix some fresh. If that doesn't clean it up, then your jets are clogged with old, nasty, gooey fuel. Since no fuel can flow through them, you are having to use the choke, which actually opens up another passage which allows more fuel into the carburetor.