DirectX 9 Monthly Updates for Vista

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TALLandNcharge, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. TALLandNcharge

    TALLandNcharge New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should I install the DirectX 9 update to my Vista Home Premium notebook? I think the newest is Nov. 07 and I haven't updated DirectX since I've came to Vista.
     
  2. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    why wouldn't you?
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any point? You already have DirectX 10. I would think it's backwards-compatible with DirectX 9, and can provide all the same services without needing DX9 installed separately.

    Then again, the fuck do I know. I don't even use Vista.
     
  4. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    directx9 still needs to be installed.
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    On Vista? Why is that? All previous direct x updates were in the forward direction.

    :confused:
     
  6. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Don't know. Unless it is application specific. I just installed a couple of games not too long ago that wouldn't start because directx9c was not found. Might have been a vista problem, but i was under the assumption it needed it. So i installed directx9c and it worked. [​IMG]
     
  7. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Wow. That sounds like microsoft either dropped the ball on that, or just wanted to make DX10 as much Vista specific as they possibly could.
    At the expense of compatibility.
     

Share This Page